2022 Phillip Island World Supersport Race Two Result: Finally, A Dry Race

The last World Supersport race of the year was eighteen laps off Phillip Island and the grid lined up for a dry race. Niki Tuuli was ruled unfit after stomach pains. Leonardo Taccini would start from the back of the grid due to a tyre pressure infringement. 

Nicolo Bulega led Yari Montella and Federico Caricasulo in to turn one but Montella took to the outside to take second place only to be pushed wide by the field. Montella crashed with Can Oncu, ending his race and swerved through the pack making a few riders nervous as he climbed to fifth place. Dominique Aegerter led Lorenzo Baldassarri at the start of lap two but Baldassarri took the lead as the pair swapped back and forth throughout the lap. 

On the second lap, behind Baldassarri, Aegerter, Caricasulo and Bulega, Yari Montella set the fastest lap, a 1'34.875. Stefano Manzi followed him through to take sixth place ahead of Marcel Schroetter. 

On lap three, Schroetter set the fastest lap, a 1'34.659, just over two seconds off the leader. Aegerter took over at the lead as Baldassarri went wide into turn four. Montella clawed his way up to third place to duel with Caricasulo as the leading four were caught by Manzi, Bulega and Schroetter. Carucasulo passed Montella and Aegerter but as Aegerter took second place back, Montella was handed a long lap penalty for his incident with Oncu, declared irresponsible riding.

On lap six, Montella took his penalty around the loop outside turn four and returned to the race in seventh place ahead of Raffaele De Rosa. Lap seven, Aegerter took the lead back from Baldassarri into turn one ahead of Federico Caricasulo and Stefano Manzi who set the fastest lap, a 1'34.008, and then crashed, pushed off the track by Caricasulo underneath him. Manzi recovered in twentieth place. Caricasulo took the lead, charging from third place to first into turn one, but Aegerter took the lead back from him out of the turn and into turn two.

As Baldassarri fought with Caricasulo, Aegerter did his rabbit impression early, teasing out a second in a lap to lead by over a second at half race distance. Caricasulo led Baldassarri by two hundredths of a second as Schroetter defended against Montella over a second behind the podium fight. 

A second behind Aegerter, Caricasulo set a 1'34.008 fastest lap as Montella took fourth from Schroetter and stared at a gap of under a second and a half to the podium places. Bulega followed Schroetter through to take fifth from the German. 

At two thirds race distance, the weather looked like it wasn't going to interrupt the action as Aegerter led Caricasulo by a second and a half with Baldassarri a further second behind. Three and a half seconds further back, Bulega led Montella, Schroetter and De Rosa. Oli Bayliss held eighth place six and a half seconds further back. 

Lap seventeen of eighteen, Dominique Aegerter led Federico Caricasulo by two seconds with Lorenzo Baldassarri a second further back. Nicolo Bulega, six seconds off the podium, fended off Yari Montella with Raffaele De Rosa, fighting with his transponder, two seconds further back but a second clear of Marcel Schroetter. 

At the flag, Dominique Aegerter took the win, celebrating just under two seconds ahead of Federico Caricasulo and Lorenzo Baldassarri. Oli Bayliss celebrated his eighth place in front of his home crowd, nine seconds behind Marcel Schroetter on his debut Supersport weekend. Jules Cluzel finished in eleventh place on his final career race before he sat on the track with compatriots Loris Baz and Andy Verdoia to play a quick game of Uno. Dominique Aegerter showboated around the victory lap as Cluzel tried to destroy his last tyre. Aegerter squared off his rear tyre before twatting the rev limiter in Parc Fermé. Can Oncu retained third place in the championship in spite of his crash, but will likely not put Yari Montella on his Christmas card list. 

Dominique Aegerter took seventeen wins from twenty four races along with winning the MotoE title and heads off to World Superbike for 2023. 


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 77 D. AEGERTER Yamaha YZF R6  
2 64 F. CARICASULO Ducati Panigale V2 1.888
3 7 L. BALDASSARRI Yamaha YZF R6 2.637
4 11 N. BULEGA Ducati Panigale V2 4.650
5 55 Y. MONTELLA Kawasaki ZX-6R 0.310
6 3 R. DE ROSA Ducati Panigale V2 3.110
7 92 M. SCHROETTER MV Agusta F3 800 RR 11.270
8 32 O. BAYLISS Ducati Panigale V2 9.210
9 94 A. VERDOIA Yamaha YZF R6 20.730
10 28 G. VAN STRAALEN Yamaha YZF R6 20.841
11 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 21.316
12 99 A. HUERTAS Kawasaki ZX-6R 25.138
13 56 P. SEBESTYEN Yamaha YZF R6 0.168
14 9 S. JESPERSEN Yamaha YZF R6 25.455
15 38 H. SOOMER Triumph Street Triple RS 26.113
16 91 L. BERNARDI Ducati Panigale V2 5.424
17 50 O. VOSTATEK Yamaha YZF R6 40.466
18 69 T. BOOTH-AMOS Kawasaki ZX-6R 17.797
19 24 L. TACCINI Yamaha YZF R6 59.326
20 25 M. BRENNER Yamaha YZF R6 59.349
21 10 U. ORRADRE Yamaha YZF R6 1'11.559
RET 62 S. MANZI Triumph Street Triple RS 12 Laps
RET 61 C. ONCU Kawasaki ZX-6R  
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top


Quite a race! Good to see the champ finish the season with another win.

Satisfying that Caricasulo actually finished, and on the podium!

Good ride by Baldassarri as well. 

Ducatis suited the conditions judging by the results. Four in the top eight. 

Oli Bayliss took a solid result considering his grid position and completed his rookie season with eight more points.

Stefano Manzi had another dnf. Disappointing weekend for Triumph, that's racing.