2021 Jerez World Supersport Race Result: Second Place Is The First Loser?

World Supersport would only have one race this weekend, reducing the opportunities Steven Odendaal has to claw back points on Dominique Aegerter. Alcoba and Fabrizio opted not to race. Seventeen laps at 24ºC would determine the winner.

Dominique Aegerter got a good start to take the lead from Philipp Oettl into the first turn. Manuel Gonzalez and Steven Odendaal fought behind the leading two, ahead of Stefano Manzi and Can Oncu. Niki Tuuli charged through to seventh place. After one lap, the leading seventeen riders were all in touch and riders were swapping places up and down the field. 

Dominique Aegerter set the fastest lap with a 1'42.525 in the lead as Steven Odendaal missed the last corner and dropped back to ninth place, between Federico Caricasulo and Randy Krummenacher. A lap later, Aegerter set a 1'42.376, a lap record, and was over a second clear of second-placed Philipp Oettl and Manuel Gonzalez. Niki Tuuli and Can Oncu kept up with the riders ahead of them, rounding out the top five, as sixth-placed Raffaele De Rosa was a second behind. Another lap record by Aegerter, a 1'42.329, as he extended the lead to over two seconds.

On lap six of eighteen, Federico Caricasulo took sixth place from Raffaele De Rosa as Steven Odendaal claimed eighth from Stefano Manzi. Dominique Aegerter read his pit board and reduced his pace as he led by over three seconds. 

At half race distance, Steven Odendaal was in eighth place, almost three seconds behind Raffaele De Rosa, bottling up Stefano Manzi, Randy Krummenacher and Marcel Brenner behind him while Dominique Aegerter led by over four and a half seconds, ahead of Philipp Oettl, Niki Tuuli and Manuel Gonzalez. Federico Caricasulo, Can Oncu and Raffaele De Rosa contested fifth place. 

In third place, Nikki Tuuli started shortening the one second gap to Philipp Oettl in second place, bringing Manuel Gonzalez with him, but Oettl maintained his pace to keep the lead. Dominique Aegerter in the lead was lapping almost a second a lap quicker than the riders behind him, with an eight second lead by lap fourteen. 

Philipp Oettl held on to second place a second clear of Niki Tuuli and Manuel Gonzales as the three riders set lap times within four thousandths of a second of each other. With two laps to go, Dominique Aegerter led by almost ten seconds as Niki Tuuli finally caught Philipp Oettl, leaving Manuel Gonzalez almost a second behind. Steven Odendaal took eighth place from Stefano Manzi as Randy Krummenacher watched. 

The last lap started with Dominique Aegerter over ten seconds clear of the fight for second place, skimming his elbow slider off apexes, as Randy Krummenacher crashed out of tenth place fighting for eighth. Aegerter majestically crossed the line on a vertical Yamaha, standing proud as his championship rival Steven Odendaal finished seventeen seconds, a second a lap, behind in eighth place. Philipp Oettl held off a late challenge by Niki Tuuli as Manuel Gonzalez finished over a second off the podium behind them. 

Philipp Oettl was inexplicably the single most disappointed man in history with a second place, his best result of the year, thinking this was his best opportunity for a win all year. 

Dominique Aegerter extended his lead over Steven Odendaal to sixty two points, clawing back the points Odendaal gained while Aegerter contested the MotoE championship. Philipp Oettl closed to within forty eight points of Odendaal, in spite of how sad he was with a second place, passing Manuel Gonzalez whose fourth place dropped him to fourth in the championship. 


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 77 D. AEGERTER Yamaha YZF R6  
2 5 P. OETTL Kawasaki ZX-6R 9.609
3 66 N. TUULI MV Agusta F3 675 10.251
4 81 M. GONZALEZ Yamaha YZF R6 11.861
5 94 F. CARICASULO Yamaha YZF R6 13.153
6 61 C. ONCU Kawasaki ZX-6R 14.592
7 3 R. DE ROSA Kawasaki ZX-6R 14.993
8 4 S. ODENDAAL Yamaha YZF R6 17.639
9 62 S. MANZI Yamaha YZF R6 18.175
10 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 24.459
11 25 M. BRENNER Yamaha YZF R6 26.090
12 38 H. SOOMER Yamaha YZF R6 28.561
13 56 P. SEBESTYEN Yamaha YZF R6 29.335
14 22 F. FULIGNI Yamaha YZF R6 33.786
15 71 C. BERGMAN Yamaha YZF R6 38.184
16 96 D. SANCHIS MARTINEZ Yamaha YZF R6 45.959
17 34 K. MANFREDI Yamaha YZF R6 46.191
18 6 M. HERRERA Yamaha YZF R6 46.535
19 24 L. TACCINI Kawasaki ZX-6R 46.933
20 42 S. FROSSARD Yamaha YZF R6 1'00.563
21 50 O. VOSTATEK Yamaha YZF R6 1'00.629
22 45 S. KAWASAKI Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'09.437
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top