2021 Aragon World Supersport Race 2 Result: Patience And Preparation Pay

World Supersport race two would be missing two riders at the start, with Nikki Tuuli and Thomas Gradinger being declared unfit, Tuuli with a concussion and Gradinger with a foot contusion. Pole-sitter Jules Cluzel still has no luck, getting sent to the back of the grid for a tyre pressure infringement. The race was declared wet, making tyre choice a factor.

Philipp Oetll inherited pole position but threw away the lead after crashing out in turn one alongside Federico Caricasulo and the lead was taken over by Steven Odendaal then by Marc Alcoba and Christoffer Bergman. Randy Krummenacher ended the first lap in an impressive third place in the tricky conditions. Jules Cluzel was nine seconds behind in thirteenth place. 

Christoffer Bergman, setting the fastest lap on lap two, had a second and a half lead over Marc Alcoba with Randy Krummenacher two seconds further back. Cluzel was in eleventh, then tenth, a second and a half behind Raffaele De Rosa. 

Another fastest lap from Christoffer Bergman as he stretched his lead over Marc Alcoba to two seconds. Randy Krummenacher another four seconds further back had over a second over Steven Odendaal with Luca Bernardi and Manuel Gonzales rounding out the top six. 

Another lap and Christoffer Bergman increased his pace again as the track dried out. Steven Odendaal, the only rider on intermediate tyres, took third place from Randy Krummenacher as Luca Bernardi pulled out of fifth place with his hand up. Jules Cluzel, passing Dominique Aegerter and Raffaele De Rosa, worked his way to seventh place, closing on Hannes Soomer. The group Cluzel caught was headed by fourth-placed Manuel Gonzales, and in the space of a few corners, Cluzel passed three riders and took fourth place, with a four second gap to third-placed Steven Odendaal who set the fastest lap on lap six. 

Christoffer Bergman and Marc Alcoba led the race on wet tyres as Steven Odendaal and Jules Cluzel took over with the fast laps, Cluzel setting the fastest lap on lap seven, almost two seconds quicker than the lead pair. At half race distance, Cluzel was three seconds off Odendaal and eleven seconds from Bergman in the lead.

Lap eight, and Cluzel knocked another second off the fastest lap, under nine seconds from the lead and finally on the tail of Steven Odendaal and a further three of second-placed Marc Alcoba. 

As Cluzel closed on Odendaal, two places behind, Raffaele De Rosa set the fastest lap. Cluzel caught and passed Alcoba, and as Alcoba looked over his left shoulder, Odendaal sneaked past on his right. 

With five laps left, Jules Cluzel was just under three seconds off the lead, lapping three seconds faster than Christoffer Bergman. De Rosa set the fastest lap again, climbing to fifth place. At the end of the straight, Cluzel took the lead, putting power down better out of turn seventeen and passing him cleanly before the end of the straight.

In lap twelve, the top five closed up, and Bergman's time was over, in fifth place as the intermediate chargers all passed him. Cluzel led Steven Odendaal, Raffaele De Rosa and Hannes Soomer and a fight for the win broke out. De Rosa, again, set the fastest lap.

Cluzel and Odendaal, locked together had back markers to pass, and Odendaal made the best use of his faster bike down the straight and the penultimate lap started with four riders able to take the win. Another fastest lap and second place came as De Rosa passed Cluzel, with under a second covering the lead four riders. 

The last lap, Odendaal led De Rosa, Cluzel and Soomer, with under three quarters of a second covering the four. De Rosa harangued Odendaal as Soomer nipped at Cluzel. De Rosa, seeking his first ever win, took the lead and tried to break free before the long straight where Odendaal had a clear advantage. 

Down the straight, on the last lap, Steven Odendaal closed up on Raffaele De Rosa and took the lead on the brakes, and the pair had a run to the flag, with Odendaal maintaining the lead as De Rosa twitched his rear exiting the last turn. Jules Cluzel held off Hannes Soomer to take third place after starting at the back of the grid.

Tyre choice and patience paid off for the riders with the intermediate rear tyre, having to wait for the leaders' tyres to drop off as the track came to the intermediate tyres. Odendaal thanked his team for convincing him to switch to an intermediate tyre.

Steven Odendaal took his second win from two races and leads the championship by nineteen points over Dominique Aegerter. Raffaele De Rosa ends the weekend twenty three points from Odendaal. Jules Cluzel ends in sixth place, behind Hannes Soomer and Christoffer Bergman.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 4 S. ODENDAAL Yamaha YZF R6  
2 3 R. DE ROSA Kawasaki ZX-6R 0.100
3 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 0.334
4 38 H. SOOMER Yamaha YZF R6 0.389
5 77 D. AEGERTER Yamaha YZF R6 17.785
6 71 C. BERGMAN Yamaha YZF R6 19.976
7 70 M. ALCOBA Yamaha YZF R6 31.984
8 95 V. TAKALA Yamaha YZF R6 35.144
9 21 R. KRUMMENACHER Yamaha YZF R6 36.403
10 55 G. HENDRA PRATAMA Yamaha YZF R6 37.524
11 81 M. GONZALEZ Yamaha YZF R6 0.297
12 34 K. MANFREDI Yamaha YZF R6 50.606
13 6 M. HERRERA Yamaha YZF R6 56.884
14 61 C. ONCU Kawasaki ZX-6R 8.011
15 19 P. SZKOPEK Yamaha YZF R6 7.739
16 42 S. FROSSARD Yamaha YZF R6 1'17.314
17 22 F. FULIGNI Yamaha YZF R6 1'17.560
18 94 F. CARICASULO Yamaha YZF R6 1'33.617
19 24 L. TACCINI Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'33.621
20 45 S. KAWASAKI Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'53.310
21 84 M. FABRIZIO Kawasaki ZX-6R 1 Lap
RET 2 L. MONTELLA Yamaha YZF R6 13
RET 23 D. PIZZOLI Yamaha YZF R6 4 Laps
RET 29 L. BERNARDI Yamaha YZF R6 5 Laps
RET 5 P. OETTL Kawasaki ZX-6R 14 Laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top