2021 Le Mans MotoE E-Pole Result: Someone Got Pole, Probably

The final qualifying session of the day got the absolute worst conditions of the weekend and the wet session followed a different format to the usual E-Pole, with a 12-minute session for all riders and a maximum of six laps allowed. However, as soon as the light went green at the end of pitlane and riders gingerly headed out, it was an instant red flag due to pouring rain. Of course bright sunshine hit the track soon after but there were rivers flowing down pitlane and it took a little while to restart proceedings. Once it happened, riders were faced with their first properly wet session but while they pushed to get up to speed quickly, a couple of crashes and their respective yellow flags ended up making a big impact on the timesheets.

Practice leader Eric Granado looked on route to follow it up with pole but the Brazilian crashed out at turn 3 in the final handful of minutes, having just set up camp at the top of the standings, which allowed rival Dominique Aegerter to take over at the front. The Swiss rider got challenged by rookies Miquel Pons and Hikaro Okubo but the front row line-up awkwardly changed a couple times while interviews were underway in parc fermé, with both rookies getting demoted due to yellow flag infringements. Eventually, Aegerter also saw his pole time get scrapped well after the session was over, which left Granado in a surprise pole position. Reigning cup champion Jordi Torres got promoted to second but that didn’t last either, so Pons managed to climb back onto the front row, only a tenth off pole on his first visit to Le Mans. Matteo Ferrari inherited the final place on the front row, despite being only seventh at the checkered flag.

After a few more shuffles of the pack, Xavi Cardelus opens the second row, where he will be joined by Alessandro Zaccone and Aegerter, while Andrea Mantovani leads the third row ahead of Fermín Aldeguer - the rookie getting a yellow flag infringement of his own - and Yonny Hernandez. Okubo went from parc fermé to 10th on the grid, with Torres dropped to 11th. Despite crashing after only one flying lap, Lukas Tulovic got promoted to 12th on the grid, while Corentin Perolari qualified 13th but will have to serve a three-place grid penalty for irresponsible riding last time out in Jerez.


Pos No. Rider Bike Time Diff Prev
1 51 Eric Granado Energica 2'00.315    
2 71 Miquel Pons Energica 2'00.416 0.101 0.101
3 11 Matteo Ferrari Energica 2'00.655 0.340 0.239
4 18 Xavi Cardelus Energica 2'01.437 1.122 0.782
5 61 Alessandro Zaccone Energica 2'02.197 1.882 0.760
6 77 Dominique Aegerter Energica 2'03.417 3.102 1.220
7 9 Andrea Mantovani Energica 2'03.772 3.457 0.355
8 54 Fermín Aldeguer Energica 2'04.842 4.527 1.070
9 68 Yonny Hernandez Energica 2'05.245 4.930 0.403
10 78 Hikari Okubo Energica 2'05.861 5.546 0.616
11 40 Jordi Torres Energica 2'05.967 5.652 0.106
12 3 Lukas Tulovic Energica 2'06.635 6.320 0.668
13 19 Corentin Perolari Energica 2'09.152 8.837 2.517
14 80 Jasper Iwema Energica 2'09.421 9.106 0.269
15 14 Andre Pires Energica 2'09.711 9.396 0.290
16 27 Mattia Casadei Energica 2'09.745 9.430 0.034
17 21 Kevin Zannoni Energica 2'10.348 10.033 0.603
18 6 Maria Herrera Energica 2'12.908 12.593 2.560
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top