2020 Portimao World Supersport Race One Result: Delayed Start Doesn't Dampen Prospects

The World Supersport race start was delayed by over an hour, until the medical helicopter could return after the crash at end of the World Superbike race. As the day dragged on, the weather didn't turn and the seventeen lap race could start after a quick start procedure. 

Corentin Perolari and Jules Cluzel got the jump on Andrea Locatelli into the first turn, with Lucas Mahias, Philipp Oettl and Isaac Viñales behind them. Perolari and Cluzel swapped places around the first lap, but as the GMT94 teammates charged down the straight, Locatelli tucked into the soft air behind them and passed both of them into turn one for the lead. Cluzel and Locatelli then chopped back and forth for the lead, and Locatelli set the fastest lap, a 1'46.761, fending off his title rival. 

The leading six riders had a two second gap after just two laps, as the lead changed again, with Locatelli going wide into turn eleven giving Cluzel the opportunity to take the lead from him. Cluzel then set the fastest lap of 1'46.404 as he tried to capitalise on his lead.

The leading four riders, Jules Cluzel, Andrea Locatelli, Corentin Perolari and Lucas Mahias, started breaking away from Isaac Viñales and Philipp Oettl and Locatelli once again took the lead only to have Cluzel to outbreak him into turn one of lap five for the lead. Lucas Mahias carried his speed down the hill to sweep under Corentin Perolari, only for the pair to swap places to lose the leading two. Mahias then signalled to Perolari to stick with him to close the gap. 

Jules Cluzel and Andrea Locatelli both set the fastest lap as they crossed the line, with Locatelli once again taking the lead into turn one after setting a 1'46.251 lap. Mahias, Perolari and Viñales were over two seconds behind the leading pair seven laps in. Mahias kept charging but Perolari got into a fight with Viñales a second behind. 

Andrea Locatelli was trying to break away from Jules Cluzel, as he has done every chance he's had this year, but Cluzel kept within four tenths of a second lap after lap as the pair kept the hammer down. Locatelli gained a tenth then lost it as they passed half race distance, while Lucas Mahias, over three seconds behind, was in a comfortable third place as Corentin Perolari and Isaac Viñales, three seconds behind Mahias, were caught by the late-race specialist Raffaele De Rosa. On lap twelve, Locatelli finally broke free of Cluzel and De Rosa took fourth place, passing both Perolari and Viñales as they were distracted by each other into turn one. 

At the start of lap thirteen, Locatelli lost half a second of his lead as Cluzel caught back up, but in catching up, Cluzel crashed out at turn five, losing the front and having to pick his bike up to rejoin. Cluzel rejoined in sixth place, four seconds behind Perolari and closing, but with only four laps left. 

Three laps from the end, Locatelli had a seven and a half second lead over Lucas Mahias with Raffaele De Rosa a further four seconds behind with Isaac Viñales and Corentin Perolari challenging him for the last step of the podium. Viñales kept the pressure on De Rosa and the pair crossed the line to start the last lap at the same time. 

Andrea Locatelli won decisively, ahead of Lucas Mahias, but the battle for third place was hard fought, with Isaac Viñales taking third from Raffaele De Rosa ahead of Corentin Perolari before the last sector, a long sequence of right handers, only to have all three riders charging down the straight together. Raffaele De Rosa powered past Isaac Viñales and dragged Corentin Perolari with him. De Rosa took third ahead of Perolari and Viñales as under two hundredths of a second separated there trio. Jules Cluzel finished in sixth place a few seconds later. 

Andrea Locatelli won his fourth race of the year, extending his championship lead over Jules Cluzel to 30 points. Lucas Mahias closed to within eight points of Cluzel while Raffaele De Rosa once again got his first podium of the year, with is previous third place being removed for a technical infringement. 


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 55 A. LOCATELLI Yamaha YZF R6  
2 44 L. MAHIAS Kawasaki ZX-6R 8.380
3 3 R. DE ROSA MV Agusta F3 675 11.217
4 94 C. PEROLARI Yamaha YZF R6 11.228
5 32 I. VIÑALES Yamaha YZF R6 11.235
6 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 14.831
7 5 P. OETTL Kawasaki ZX-6R 20.736
8 4 S. ODENDAAL Yamaha YZF R6 22.123
9 38 H. SOOMER Yamaha YZF R6 22.219
10 81 M. GONZALEZ Kawasaki ZX-6R 25.663
11 99 D. WEBB Yamaha YZF R6 31.941
12 56 P. SEBESTYEN Yamaha YZF R6 32.159
13 47 A. BASSANI Yamaha YZF R6 39.769
14 77 M. PONS Yamaha YZF R6 40.111
15 84 L. CRESSON Yamaha YZF R6 41.845
16 52 P. HOBELSBERGER Honda CBR600RR 45.608
17 9 G. HENDRA PRATAMA Yamaha YZF R6 48.714
18 83 L. EPIS Yamaha YZF R6 53.121
19 6 M. HERRERA Honda CBR600RR 1'08.613
RET 61 C. ÖNCÜ Kawasaki ZX-6R 4 Laps
RET 22 F. FULIGNI MV Agusta F3 675 8 Laps
RET 2 L. MONTELLA Yamaha YZF R6 10 Laps
RET 25 A. VERDOÏA Yamaha YZF R6 11 Laps
RET 34 K. MANFREDI Yamaha YZF R6 14 Laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top