2020 Andalucia MotoE Race Result: Early Morning Drama

The first show of the day came from a short and sweet MotoE race, where rookie Dominique Aegerter confirmed the speed he showed throughout practice to take his first win in the class. Aegerter got the holeshot from pole position ahead of Matteo Ferrari and Alejandro Medina, while front row starter Lukas Tulovic got pushed back by an aggressive move from Eric Granado. The poleman did not last long at the front, with Ferrari and Medina attacking him soon after and the Spaniard found himself in the lead of his home race by the end of lap one. Aegerter recomposed himself on the following lap and attempted an escape after a decisive move at turn 9, while Granado was pushing to join the podium battle.

The feisty battle for second allowed the Swiss rider almost one second of advantage by the end of the third lap and the chasing group lost Medina at turn 1 the next time around. One lap later, Granado picked up the baton in chasing the runaway leader but his mission did not last long, as an overly ambitious move from Ferrari took both himself and Granado out of contention. Jordi Torres found himself inheriting second position but was over two seconds behind fellow rookie Aegerter. Another second down the road, the final podium spot was being disputed between Mattia Casadei, Nicolo Canepa and Alex de Angelis but Casadei successfully defended his place to the checkered flag.

Aegerter’s clear win combined with Granado’s misfortune allowed the Swiss rider to take control of the championship standings, 11 points ahead of Torres. Granado drops to third, 13 points down on the leader, with Casadei fourth, another point down.


Pos No. Rider Bike Time/Diff
1 77 Dominique Aegerter Energica 10'54.366
2 40 Jordi Torres Energica +2.688
3 27 Mattia Casadei Energica +3.759
4 15 Alex De Angelis Energica +4.484
5 7 Niccolo Canepa Energica +4.537
6 35 Lukas Tulovic Energica +5.980
7 63 Mike Di Meglio Energica +6.133
8 16 Josh Hook Energica +6.513
9 10 Xavier Simeon Energica +8.695
10 18 Xavi Cardelus Energica +10.583
11 6 Maria Herrera Energica +13.594
12 84 Jakub Kornfeil Energica +13.641
13 51 Eric Granado Energica +1'37.947
    Not Classified
  11 Matteo Ferrari Energica 2 Laps
  55 Alejandro Medina Energica 3 Laps
    Not Finished 1st Lap    
  61 Alessandro Zaccone Energica 0 Lap
  70 Tommaso Marcon Energica 0 Lap
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top


Peter PetrolHead says this series rocks. Commentary is great, also. Even the qualifying is linear in the way it captures the attention, whereas the qualifying session for the motogp builds in excitement similar to the way an ICE builds power. Interesting...