2019 Valencia MotoE Race 1 Result: Then There Were Three *UPDATED*

With all eyes on the title battle, Eric Granado swooped in and stole the first place trophy after a modest start from pole position. Bradley Smith had made a better start to lead the way from the poleman, with Xavier Simeon and Hector Garzo coming from the second row of the grid to push back title leader Matteo Ferrari. Smith was on a mission and by the end of lap one, the British rider was taking off at the front, nearly one second ahead of Granado, who in turn had seven tenths on the final podium spot battle between Garzo, Simeon and Ferrari. Meanwhile, Mike Di Meglio was giving up his already slim title hopes down in tenth spot.

By lap three, Granado was reeling in Smith and taking Garzo with him, the Spaniard setting the fastest lap of the race and dropping Ferrari and Simeon from the podium battle. Only one lap later, there was a three-way victory battle on the cards but Granado and Garzo bided their time to make the decisive move. The Brazilian was the first to attack at the start of the penultimate lap, entering turn one in the lead and his mission was aided by Smith and Garzo immediately engaging in battle. On the final lap all attention was on lively fight for second, Garzo defending successfully to the line to take the extra points in the title battle.

Ferrari’s fourth place finish sees him head into the final race with a 12 points advantage over Garzo, with Smith the only other rider with a shot at the title, 21 points back on Ferrari.

UPDATE: Hector Garzo has been disqualified after the race for running tyre pressures lower than the parameters advised. This drops him out of the title battle, leaving Smith as Ferrari's only rival. 


Pos. Num. Rider Bike Gap
1 51 Eric GRANADO Energica 11'49.900
2 4 Hector GARZO Energica +0.576
3 38 Bradley SMITH Energica +0.706
4 11 Matteo FERRARI Energica +3.213
5 10 Xavier SIMEON Energica +6.310
6 5 Alex DE ANGELIS Energica +7.383
7 7 Niccolo CANEPA Energica +7.732
8 2 Jesko RAFFIN Energica +8.888
9 16 Joshua HOOK Energica +9.634
10 27 Mattia CASADEI Energica +10.676
11 63 Mike DI MEGLIO Energica +10.923
12 15 Sete GIBERNAU Energica +12.177
13 14 Randy DE PUNIET Energica +15.569
14 18 Nicolas TEROL Energica +15.783
15 6 Maria HERRERA Energica +15.821
16 32 Lorenzo SAVADORI Energica +16.165
17 78 Kenny FORAY Energica +21.668
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top