2019 San Juan Villicum World Superbike Superpole Race Result: All Nineteen Riders Lined Up

In the Tissot Superpole race, all nineteen riders lined up. With the cooler weather (18ºC air, 27ºC track), it was considered to be a lot safer. The Argentine crowds sat on grey, rock-strewn hills being battered by the wind to watch the ten lap race. 

The race opened with Alvaro Bautista getting into the first corner in first place, ahead of Jonathan Rea, Toprak Razgatlioglu, Alex Lowes, Michael van der Mark and Chaz Davies. Exiting turn six, Jonathan Rea put himself on the left hand side of Alvaro Bautista's rear half, forcing Bautista to concede the apex of turn seven. Rea took the lead and held it in spite of the Ducati's known superiority down the kilometre-long straight between turns seven and eight. At the end of lap one, Loris Baz once again was spat off his bike, crashing out at turn sixteen, near the end of the lap.

On lap two, Jonathan Rea set a new lap record, beating it again on lap three and breaking free of Alvaro Bautista.

At the start of lap four, Jonathan Rea had a lead over Alvaro Bautista of over a second and Bautista had a lead over Toprak Razgatlioglu of almost a second with Alex Lowes a further two seconds behind him. Chaz Davies took fourth place off Alex Lowes and the race settled down.

The remaining six laps were fairly processional as gaps increased slightly with no changes of position in the top seven places, with the only excitement being at turn ten of lap nine when Jonathan Rea was hit with a massive gust of wind that nearly blew him off the track, but not even that could change the inevitable outcome.

Jonathan Rea won the Tissot Superpole race, ahead of Alvaro Bautista and Toprak Razgatlioglu, with the Yamahas of Alex Lowes and Michael van der Mark finishing behind Chaz Davies.

The championship stays the same in the top two spots and the fight for third place, but the gap from fifth-placed Razgatlioglu to third-placed Lowes is now only twelve points. 


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 1 J. REA Kawasaki ZX-10RR  
2 19 A. BAUTISTA Ducati Panigale V4 R 2.140
3 54 T. RAZGATLIOGLU Kawasaki ZX-10RR 3.682
4 7 C. DAVIES Ducati Panigale V4 R 5.549
5 22 A. LOWES Yamaha YZF R1 8.322
6 60 M. VAN DER MARK Yamaha YZF R1 9.478
7 11 S. CORTESE Yamaha YZF R1 11.393
8 91 L. HASLAM Kawasaki ZX-10RR 15.326
9 66 T. SYKES BMW S1000 RR 16.704
10 36 L. MERCADO Kawasaki ZX-10RR 16.933
11 81 J. TORRES Kawasaki ZX-10RR 19.519
12 2 L. CAMIER Honda CBR1000RR 20.615
13 50 E. LAVERTY Ducati Panigale V4 R 22.785
14 21 M. RINALDI Ducati Panigale V4 R 25.670
15 33 M. MELANDRI Yamaha YZF R1 26.558
16 52 A. DELBIANCO Honda CBR1000RR 30.148
17 28 M. REITERBERGER BMW S1000 RR 42.116
18 23 R. KIYONARI Honda CBR1000RR 42.663
RET 76 L. BAZ Yamaha YZF R1  
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top