2019 Misano MotoE Race 1 Result: Drama Packed First Outing

The first race of the Misano double header for the MotoE class set the bar quite high in terms of both action and drama. The excitement concluded with a popular home win for Matteo Ferrari, who rode an impeccable final lap to fend off Hector Garzo and Xavier Simeon and take the reins of the championship.

Poleman Alex De Angelis held position at the start from fellow front row starters Ferrari and Simeon, with a few shuffles behind as Maria Herrera took it upon herself to chase the three leaders. Despite a disappointing E-Pole session, the likes of Niki Tuuli and Mike Di Meglio were making good progress at the start. However, Di Meglio quickly suffered some technical niggles that sent him to the sidelines to watch his championship lead slip away with every lap.

De Angelis was undisturbed going into lap two while Simeon and Ferrari were swapping paint behind him. Another twist in the championship tale came soon after, when Bradley Smith, Mattia Casadei and Tuuli tangled and did not see the end of lap two. Smith was able to rejoin but points looked far from his reach.

Simeon first attacked for the lead on lap three but it was under yellow flags while Tuuli was being stretchered away so he had to give the place back. Before the Belgian got the memo, the shenanigans were getting quite spectacular and De Angelis was the first to blink, high-siding out of turn five. Soon after, Eric Granado – who had made an excellent start from his lowly grid position – also left the podium battle out of fourth place, leaving Garzo in a pretty safe third spot and pushing to catch up with the two leaders.

Ferrari made what turned out to be his race winning overtake into Quercia, after which things calmed down for a couple of laps, Simeon and Garzo waiting for the right time to pounce on the leader. The Italian started the final lap in the lead and defended excellently to the checkered flag. He was aided slightly by Garzo attacking Simeon into Curvone and holding on to second ahead of the Belgian. Jesko Raffin crossed the finish line two seconds later in fourth, with Niccolo Canepa rounding out the top five.

Ferrari’s victory sees him take over the championship standings by two points from Simeon, with Di Meglio dropping to third ahead of Smith but with plenty of points still on offer even for the rest of the challengers.


Pos. Num. Rider Bike Gap Gap Prev.
1 Matteo FERRARI ITA Energica    
2 Hector GARZO SPA Energica 0.187 0.187
3 Xavier SIMEON BEL Energica 0.590 0.403
4 Jesko RAFFIN SWI Energica 3.111 2.521
5 Niccolo CANEPA ITA Energica 3.284 0.173
6 Maria HERRERA SPA Energica 6.516 3.232
7 Lorenzo SAVADORI ITA Energica 6.883 0.367
8 Nicolas TEROL SPA Energica 7.276 0.393
9 Sete GIBERNAU SPA Energica 14.576 7.300
10 Joshua HOOK AUS Energica 15.568 0.992
11 Randy DE PUNIET FRA Energica 22.278 6.710
12 Bradley SMITH GBR Energica 31.146 8.868
13 Eric GRANADO BRA Energica 1'10.405 39.259
  Alex DE ANGELIS RSM Energica    
  Mattia CASADEI ITA Energica    
  Niki TUULI FIN Energica    
  Kenny FORAY FRA Energica    
  Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Energica    
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top