2019 Portimao World Supersport Race Result: Safety First

World Supersport was eighteen laps under a cloudless sky. Kyle Smith would start from the pit lane due to engine allocation rules.

Federico Caricasulo got a good start while Randy Krummenacher didn't. Caricasulo got away at the Strat, outbraking Isaac Vinales and Lucas Mahias into the first turn while Randy Krummenacher sat behind fourth-placed Jules Cluzel. A lap later, Vinales briefly took first place into turn one but Caricasulo took it back on the way out. The leading five bikes were joined by three more as Federico Caricasulo and Isaac Vinales set fastest laps. On lap three, Federico Caricasulo and Lucas Mahias set fastest laps and on lap four, Federico Caricasulo set the fastest lap again. Lucas Mahias took advantage of Isaac Vinales getting distracted by his gear changer to take second place from him.

On lap five, Federico Caricasulo and Lucas Mahias broke away as Isaac Vinales had more gear troubles. Randy Krummenacher threaded through Jules Cluzel and Isaac Vinales to take third place into turn one and catch the leading pair. Isaac Vinales pulled out with a mechanical issue as Randy Krummenacher set the fastest lap. 

Jules Cluzel and Raffaele De Rosa spend the next few laps catching the leading trio as Randy Krummenacher passed Lucas Mahias. Federico Caricasulo commanded the pace at the front, but Jules Cluzel was almost half a second quicker and closed the gap. De Rosa did the same the lap after and we were back with a five-way fight at the front. 

On lap ten, Randy Krummenacher took the lead from Federico Caricasulo and increased the pace slightly, trying to break away from Lucas Mahias, Jules Cluzel and Raffaele De Rosa, but the trailing trio just matched their pace and held on. A lap later, De Rosa took fourth place from Cluzel into the first turn, and Cluzel started dropping off the leading group. 

On lap thirteen, Raffaele De Rosa powered out of turn two and his rear tyre let go of the tarmac. De Rosa made a magnificent save, but a few turns later, he pulled off the track and gesticulated at the marshals, pointing at his slightly smoking bike. He'd dumped fluid on his rear tyre and the track and he wanted the race to be stopped for safety. 

The marshals wasted no time in calling the race off, bringing out the red flags with two thirds of the race completed giving us a final result.

When the riders saw the red flags, Federico Caricasulo had just passed Randy Krummenacher into turn one and Krummenacher, content to sit in second place for a few laps, didn't make an attempt to pass back.

When Federico Caricasulo and Randy Krummenacher returned to Parc Fermé, neither knew who won and they asked each other whose bike went where. Unfortunately for Krummenacher, the new red flag rules, a sensible rule change, meant that Caricasulo took the race win, as he was in the lead through the last timing point before the red flag came out. 

Federico Caricasulo's win put him only ten points behind Randy Krummenacher in the championship, but extended his lead over third-placed Jules Cluzel to thirty eight points. Lucas Mahias's third place puts him within forty seven points of Jules Cluzel and sixteen points clear of Hikari Okubo.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 64 F. CARICASULO Yamaha YZF R6  
2 21 R. KRUMMENACHER Yamaha YZF R6 12:39'55.456
3 44 L. MAHIAS Kawasaki ZX-6R 12:39'55.768
4 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 12:39'57.728
5 86 A. BADOVINI Kawasaki ZX-6R 12:39'58.248
6 94 C. PEROLARI Yamaha YZF R6 12:40'03.243
7 78 H. OKUBO Kawasaki ZX-6R 12:40'03.513
8 95 J. DANILO Honda CBR600RR 12:40'05.261
9 84 L. CRESSON Yamaha YZF R6 0.200
10 71 M. PONS Yamaha YZF R6 12:40'05.661
11 56 P. SEBESTYEN Honda CBR600RR 12:40'06.142
12 61 G. RUIU Honda CBR600RR 12:39'48.934
13 31 D. VALLE Yamaha YZF R6 12:39'49.158
14 74 J. VAN SIKKELERUS Honda CBR600RR 12:39'51.007
15 22 F. FULIGNI MV Agusta F3 675 12:39'51.107
16 30 G. VAN STRAALEN Kawasaki ZX-6R 12:39'54.314
17 10 N. CALERO Kawasaki ZX-6R 12:39'55.483
18 47 R. HARTOG Kawasaki ZX-6R 12:40'00.162
19 65 M. CANDUCCI Yamaha YZF R6 12:39'59.529
20 40 A. GYORFI Yamaha YZF R6 12:40'04.016
21 67 G. MATERN Kawasaki ZX-6R 12:40'04.442
RET 3 R. DE ROSA MV Agusta F3 675 12:39'17.935
RET 6 M. HERRERA Yamaha YZF R6 12:27'43.079
RET 32 I. VINALES Yamaha YZF R6 12:25'36.838
RET 4 C. STANGE Honda CBR600RR 12:21'52.626
RET 11 K. SMITH Kawasaki ZX-6R 3
DSQ 53 G. SCONZA Honda CBR600RR 12:33'04.774
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top