2019 Laguna Seca World Superbike Superpole Race Result: Red Flagged At Corkscrew Again

The Tissot Superpole Race would determine the top three rows for race two. A red flag came out on the first lap after a crash between riders at the corkscrew and an eight lap restart would determine the results. 

The race started with Chaz Davies getting to the front ahead of Jonathan Rea and Leon Haslam. Alvaro Bautista headed into the Andretti Hairpin at the start of the lap only to find the section of the track he wanted had a Toprak Razgatlioglu in his way. He hit the Kawasaki and lost his bike into the kitty litter where he had an emotional moment on his knees before a crash between JD Beach and Alessandro Delbianco at the corkscrew brought the red flags out. Bautista's Ducati made it back to the garage within the five minutes, getting the battered special livery replaced with the regular plastics, but Bautista unfortunately was sent to the medical centre to be assessed. With no laps completed, a restart would be an quick-start eight lap race with the grid based on the superpole results.

Alvaro Bautista would not take part in the restarted race, his bike not ready in time, along with JD Beach and Alessandro Delbianco. Only sixteen riders would take part. Jonathan Rea did not use the SCX tyre, opting for the race tyre he won with yesterday. 

In the restart, Jonathan Rea hit the Andretti Hairpin first, ahead of Chaz Davies, Tom Sykes, Leon Haslam and Toprak Razgatlioglu. On lap two, Rea set a new lap record of 1'22.700 and started to stretch out a lead from Davies and Sykes, with Haslam, Razgatlioglu and Alex Lowes further back in a fight for fourth place. 

On lap four of eight, Marco Melandri went wide at the Andretti Hairpin and dropped to last place after a mild excursion in the gravel. Toprak Razgatlioglu started probing around Leon Haslam, with Haslam holding him up, and Razgatlioglu finally found a way past at the track kink before the Corkscrew. At the start of the last lap, the leading four riders were all stretched out, safe in their positions, but Leon Haslam in fifth place had Alex Lowes to contend with. 

Jonathan Rea won the race by over two seconds from Chaz Davies with Tom Sykes over a second further back. Toprak Razgatlioglu was the best independent rider in fourth place and would head the second row of the grid in race two, alongside Leon Haslam and Alex Does. Loris Baz, Jordi Torres and Tati Mercado would make up the third row. 

Jonathan Rea extends his lead over Alvaro Bautista to sixty one points and starts this afternoon's race from pole position.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 1 J. REA Kawasaki ZX-10RR  
2 7 C. DAVIES Ducati Panigale V4 R 2.533
3 66 T. SYKES BMW S1000 RR 3.641
4 54 T. RAZGATLIOGLU Kawasaki ZX-10RR 4.901
5 91 L. HASLAM Kawasaki ZX-10RR 5.995
6 22 A. LOWES Yamaha YZF R1 6.207
7 76 L. BAZ Yamaha YZF R1 9.597
8 81 J. TORRES Kawasaki ZX-10RR 9.711
9 36 L. MERCADO Kawasaki ZX-10RR 13.441
10 60 M. VAN DER MARK Yamaha YZF R1 13.633
11 11 S. CORTESE Yamaha YZF R1 14.658
12 28 M. REITERBERGER BMW S1000 RR 14.865
13 21 M. RINALDI Ducati Panigale V4 R 17.991
14 50 E. LAVERTY Ducati Panigale V4 R 18.917
15 23 R. KIYONARI Honda CBR1000RR 19.253
16 33 M. MELANDRI Yamaha YZF R1 40.443
NS 52 A. DELBIANCO Honda CBR1000RR  
NS 95 J. BEACH Yamaha YZF R1  
NS 19 A. BAUTISTA Ducati Panigale V4 R  
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top