2019 Misano World Supersport Race Result: Proper Racing

World Supersport fielded thirty three riders for a nineteen lap race in the dry at Misano. 

Lucas Mahias translated his pole position into the lead ahead of Federico Caricasulo and Randy Krummenacher. Jules Cluzel entered turn one a little deep, but still managed to take fourth place ahead of Raffaele De Rosa and Hikari Okubo. 

On lap two, Randy Krummenacher took second place from Federico Caricasulo only for Caricasulo to take it back, briefly holding it until Krummenacher made a second attempt that worked. 

At the start of lap three, Randy Krummenacher took the lead from Lucas Mahias and a few corners later, he was joined by Federico Caricasulo who passed Lucas Mahias to take second place from him. Randy Krummenacher set the fastest lap. Lap four, and the fastest lap would fall to both Krummenacher and Caricasulo. 

Lap five, and the leading group of six - Krummenacher, Caricasulo, Mahias, Cluzel, De Rosa and Okubo - became a group of four as De Rosa crashed out at turn six, with the grip being slightly less than expected as was evidenced by a slightly slower pace than in previous years. Hikari Okubo closed back to the leading four over the next couple of laps. Federico Caricasulo ran Randy Krummenacher on to the kerbs while taking the lead from him, but neither rider slowed down. Lucas Mahias followed him through to take second place. 

For the next few laps, the leading five just ticked off the laps without any changes in position, two or three seconds clear of sixth placed Hannes Soomer, until Randy Krummenacher passed Lucas Mahias at turn eleven and latched onto the back of Federico Caricasulo until the start of lap nine, passing his teammate into turn one.

Another few laps of five riders maintaining position until Randy Krummenacher went wide at turn ten on lap fourteen and let Federico Caricasulo past. His immediate reaction was to try to take the lead back in places where it didn't look like he should be trying, as if he was surprised to have lost the lead and just wanted to take it back before anyone noticed. Two laps later, Krummenacher took the lead back, shoving Caricasulo aside as Jules Cluzel and Hikari Okubo finally dropped off the leading three. 

On the penultimate lap, Randy Krummenacher led Federico Caricasulo and Lucas Mahias and the three looked like they were the podium in some as-yet undecided order. The last lap opened with Caricasulo trying to unsuccessfully take the lead early, but at the halfway mark, Caricasulo pushed Krummenacher offline at turn eight, giving himself a bit of a gap as Krummenacher had to recover, but Krummenacher closed the gap before the last few turns and got alongside Caricasulo and the pair barged past each other, using their elbows to get in front of one another in a display of aggression that led to Caricasulo pushing Krummenacher onto the kerbs, just like earlier in the race only to have Krummenacher lean back on him as he got back to tarmac. Lucas Mahias closed up. On the last corner, Krummenacher, having got in front of Caricasulo, swept across the track to hit the apex as all three riders entered the last corner on different lines, all flat out. Mahias looked like he was going to run past Caricasulo to take second while Caricasulo looked like he could tuck in behind Krummenacher to get past in clean air, but everyone was all over the place, swooping across the track.

Randy Krummenacher came across the line under a tenth ahead of Federico Caricasulo and under just two tenths from Lucas Mahias as the three gave the crowd an entertaining close finish. Federico Caricasulo commented that he didn't expect Randy Krummenacher to be so aggressive through the last few turns.

Randy Krummenacher restored his championship lead to twenty two points ahead of his teammate Federico Caricasulo, the pair having alternated first and second places for the last four races. Jules Cluzel increased his lead over Hikari Okubo and Lucas Mahias closed to within four points of Okubo's fourth place, taking fifth place from Thomas Gradinger. 


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 21 R. KRUMMENACHER Yamaha YZF R6  
2 64 F. CARICASULO Yamaha YZF R6 0.084
3 44 L. MAHIAS Kawasaki ZX-6R 0.161
4 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 2.373
5 78 H. OKUBO Kawasaki ZX-6R 6.642
6 60 L. GABELLINI Yamaha YZF R6 12.098
7 38 H. SOOMER Honda CBR600RR 14.898
8 33 K. MANFREDI Yamaha YZF R6 19.885
9 36 T. GRADINGER Yamaha YZF R6 19.933
10 55 M. ROCCOLI Yamaha YZF R6 20.064
11 22 F. FULIGNI MV Agusta F3 675 23.246
12 12 L. OTTAVIANI Yamaha YZF R6 23.426
13 84 L. CRESSON Yamaha YZF R6 1.976
14 95 J. DANILO Honda CBR600RR 26.429
15 27 M. CASADEI Yamaha YZF R6 28.026
16 56 P. SEBESTYEN Honda CBR600RR 28.549
17 20 F. FULIGNI Yamaha YZF R6 31.291
18 47 R. HARTOG Kawasaki ZX-6R 31.420
19 11 K. SMITH Kawasaki ZX-6R 32.355
20 30 G. VAN STRAALEN Kawasaki ZX-6R 45.322
21 4 C. STANGE Honda CBR600RR 51.597
22 10 N. CALERO Kawasaki ZX-6R 55.993
23 13 R. ROLFO Kawasaki ZX-6R 56.207
24 26 P. HOBELSBERGER Yamaha YZF R6 1'00.194
25 65 M. CANDUCCI Yamaha YZF R6 1'14.398
26 40 A. GYORFI Yamaha YZF R6 1'14.499
27 32 I. VINALES Yamaha YZF R6 1'17.907
RET 86 A. BADOVINI Kawasaki ZX-6R 6 Laps
RET 53 G. SCONZA Honda CBR600RR 6 Laps
RET 3 R. DE ROSA MV Agusta F3 675 13 Laps
RET 94 C. PEROLARI Yamaha YZF R6 17 Laps
DSQ 6 M. HERRERA Yamaha YZF R6 13 Laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top