2019 Assen World Superbike Race Two Result: Action Throughout

The second twenty-one lap race of the day used the same grid as the first, with there being no time to fit a Superpole sprint race between the main events. The conditions were a little warmer, offering a little more grip than this morning.

Alvaro Bautista took the lead from pole position, ahead of Jonathan Rea who charged into second place - past Michael van der Mark into turn two - from the third row, all the reverse grid practice paying off again. Rea then took the lead off Bautista at turn five and held it. 

Lap two, Rea led Bautista and van der Mark, with Leon Haslam, Alex Lowes and Chas Davies in their wake. Van der Mark tried a pass on Bautista, but his miscalculation let Haslam past. Rea set the fastest lap, immediately beaten by Haslam then Davies and van der Mark took third back into turn one.

For the next few laps, Jonathan Rea slowed the pace a little, keeping the pack bottled up so much Jordi Torres set the fastest lap in tenth place on lap four. Lap five, still bunched up, Chaz Davies passed van der Mark at turn thirteen to set the fastest lap. 

On lap six, Alvaro Bautista saw a way past Jonathan Rea and passed him for the lead at turn eight, ominously setting the fastest lap immediately with open track in front of him. Chaz Davies caught and passed Rea at turn ten and van der Mark knocked Rea back to fourth place at the Geert Timmer chicane. Rea took third place back into turn one of lap seven and caught Bautista, passing Davies at the chicane. Bautista set the fastest lap and Rea beat it. Lap eight, Bautista set the fastest lap and, as Alex Lowes and Michael van der Mark kicked Chaz Davies back to fifth place, Bautista set a new lap record on lap ten. 

Michael van der Mark calmed himself downing took third place from his teammate at turn four and started chipping away at Rea's lead of over two seconds, a further two seconds behind Bautista. Lap seventeen of twenty one, three and a half seconds behind Alvaro Bautista, Michael van der Mark caught Jonathan Rea. As Bautista stretched out his lead, van der Mark started nipping at the heels of Rea's Kawasaki. 

On lap nineteen, van der Mark seized an opportunity, seeing Rea was struggling with grip, passing Rea round the outside of turn twelve and thirteen, sticking his elbows out as he barged past. Rea had no answer and started settling for third place, but on the last lap decided to throw the kitchen sink at it and started looking for a path to second place. At turn ten, he saw a tiny gap and had a go, scything under van der Mark's Yamaha into turn ten, but as the pair swapped paintwork, van der Mark was able to lean on Rea and close the gap, forcing Rea to back off and try again at the Geert Timmer chicane. As Bautista won his eleventh race in a row, van der Mark held the lead into the chicane but Rea had a faster exit in his wake, charging for the finish line. A photo finish was won by Michael van der Mark, eleven thousandths of a second ahead of Jonathan Rea. 

Bautista's eleventh win increased his lead at the top of the championship to fifty three points from Jonathan Rea. Alex Lowes's fourth place kept him in third place, only eleven points clear of his teammate Michael van der Mark whose second place closed the gap a little. 


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 19 A. BAUTISTA Ducati Panigale V4 R  
2 60 M. VAN DER MARK Yamaha YZF R1 4.688
3 1 J. REA Kawasaki ZX-10RR 4.706
4 22 A. LOWES Yamaha YZF R1 10.073
5 7 C. DAVIES Ducati Panigale V4 R 13.667
6 28 M. REITERBERGER BMW S1000 RR 15.373
7 66 T. SYKES BMW S1000 RR 15.387
8 91 L. HASLAM Kawasaki ZX-10RR 20.915
9 54 T. RAZGATLIOGLU Kawasaki ZX-10RR 22.922
10 81 J. TORRES Kawasaki ZX-10RR 23.518
11 11 S. CORTESE Yamaha YZF R1 28.286
12 2 L. CAMIER Honda CBR1000RR 36.039
13 50 E. LAVERTY Ducati Panigale V4 R 36.359
14 33 M. MELANDRI Yamaha YZF R1 36.895
15 21 M. RINALDI Ducati Panigale V4 R 36.913
16 80 H. BARBERA Kawasaki ZX-10RR 37.095
17 52 A. DELBIANCO Honda CBR1000RR 1'10.200
RET 23 R. KIYONARI Honda CBR1000RR 5 Laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top