2019 Buriram World Superbike Superpole Race Result: New Red Flag Procedure

The Tissot Superpole race would determine the grid for race two and offered points for the top nine. Eugene Laverty was unable to make the start as his team was still rebuilding his bike from yesterday's brake failure that meant Laverty had to bail off and watch his Ducati hit the air fence and try to achieve orbit. 

Jonathan Rea hit turn one first ahead of Alvaro Bautista and Alex Lowes, but the leading two swapped places a few times, Bautista leading at turn two, Rea at turn three and Bautista at turn four, with Alex Lowes on the leaders throughout the lap. Marco Melandri lost fourth place to Leon Haslam on the second lap and started making a few errors that let Michael van der Mark get past him. 

Bautista maintained his lead over Jonathan Rea and Alex Lowes as the three broke free of the pack, but in lap six of ten, the red flags came out and called an end to the entertainment. Thitipong Warokorn and Leon Camier crashed to bring the flags out and the new timing procedure got to be used. With timing beacons throughout the track, an almost real-time determination of the rider positions at the time of the flag is possible, and this determined the finishing places, as seen in the almost worthless Race Time statistic below.

Alvaro Bautista took his fifth victory of the year, ahead of a disgruntled Jonathan Rea and Alex Lowes. Rea said he made a setup change that didn't do much and was visibly disappointed in how things turned out. Bautista now leads Rea in the title chase by 21 points, Rea having come second to each of Bautista's wins. Alex Lowes in third place consolidated his third place in the championship.

Update: Leon Camier fractured his wrist and won't be taking part in race two.


Pos No. Rider Bike Race Time
1 19 A. BAUTISTA Ducati Panigale V4 R 13:10'37.411
2 1 J. REA Kawasaki ZX-10RR 13:10'39.453
3 22 A. LOWES Yamaha YZF R1 13:10'39.868
4 60 M. VAN DER MARK Yamaha YZF R1 13:10'42.529
5 91 L. HASLAM Kawasaki ZX-10RR 13:10'43.198
6 33 M. MELANDRI Yamaha YZF R1 13:10'43.478
7 11 S. CORTESE Yamaha YZF R1 13:10'43.808
8 7 C. DAVIES Ducati Panigale V4 R 13:10'30.051
9 54 T. RAZGATLIOGLU Kawasaki ZX-10RR 13:10'30.670
10 66 T. SYKES BMW S1000 RR 13:10'33.005
11 21 M. RINALDI Ducati Panigale V4 R 13:10'34.187
12 36 L. MERCADO Kawasaki ZX-10RR 13:10'36.258
13 81 J. TORRES Kawasaki ZX-10RR 13:10'36.792
14 28 M. REITERBERGER BMW S1000 RR 13:10'38.483
15 52 A. DELBIANCO Honda CBR1000RR 13:10'33.327
NC 99 T. WAROKORN Kawasaki ZX-10RR 13:10'24.063
NC 2 L. CAMIER Honda CBR1000RR 13:10'24.443
RET 23 R. KIYONARI Honda CBR1000RR 13:03'19.728
NS 50 E. LAVERTY Ducati Panigale V4 R  
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top