2018 Phillip Island Moto3 Qualifying Result: Fast And Steady Wins The Race

With rain falling once again in the break between sessions, riders gingerly tested the track at the start of qualifying. Or, alternatively, waited for other people to do it. The surface was almost ready for slick tyres after the first ten minutes of the session and Philipp Oettl was fastest amongst the small line-up that had run by that point. The German did not enjoy the limelight for much longer as Jorge Martin was getting more and more confident in the conditions. Although that might sound like a familiar story ending with the rapid Spaniard blasting past the opposition, Martin did not have it all his own way on his route to pole position number ten of the season.

The likes of Tatsuki Suzuki, Darryn Binder and Oettl all had a serious claim at pole in the early part of the session, with Marco Bezzecchi and teammate Jakub Kornfeil also showing serious intentions before the short lull in proceedings at the midpoint of the session. The final shootout was eventually disputed with three minutes left on the clock and despite having challengers aplenty, Martin had an answer for all of them, taking pole at the checkered flag by over two tenths of a second and causing some rather big gaps throughout the field despite the closely fought affair up to that point.

Darryn Binder followed up an excellent first podium with an impressive first ever front row start for tomorrow’s race, while Ayumu Sasaki was another delighted face in parc ferme in third place on the grid, half as second off the poleman. Kornfeil opens up row two, over seven tenths slower than Martin but not by much ahead of Gabriel Rodrigo and Oettl.

Tony Arbolino had another consistent session in which he qualified seventh and was the last man to post a time within a second of pole. The young Italian will share row three with Marcos Ramirez and another young Italian hope in Dennis Foggia. After a first lap crash on his comeback race one week ago and then topping the timesheets this Friday, Aron Canet had a more steady return to action on Saturday, the Spaniard rounding out the top ten. The Estrella Galicia rider opens row four ahead of Albert Arenas and Kaito Toba.

The pendulum swung again quite drastically in the title battle, as Martin’s pole was matched with a fifth row start for rival Bezzecchi, who dropped off the map completely in the final charge and could not do any better than 15th, behind Adam Norrodin and Enea Bastianini. The only other still somewhat realistic title contender had an even tougher time, Fabio Di Giannantonio only qualifying 17th, on the back of a couple of heavy tumbles over the past week.


Pos. Num. Rider Bike Time Gap 1st Prev.
1 88 Jorge MARTIN Honda 1'36.591    
2 40 Darryn BINDER KTM 1'36.848 0.257 0.257
3 71 Ayumu SASAKI Honda 1'37.117 0.526 0.269
4 84 Jakub KORNFEIL KTM 1'37.357 0.766 0.240
5 19 Gabriel RODRIGO KTM 1'37.465 0.874 0.108
6 65 Philipp OETTL KTM 1'37.540 0.949 0.075
7 14 Tony ARBOLINO Honda 1'37.579 0.988 0.039
8 42 Marcos RAMIREZ KTM 1'37.711 1.120 0.132
9 10 Dennis FOGGIA KTM 1'37.757 1.166 0.046
10 44 Aron CANET Honda 1'37.844 1.253 0.087
11 75 Albert ARENAS KTM 1'37.892 1.301 0.048
12 27 Kaito TOBA Honda 1'37.896 1.305 0.004
13 7 Adam NORRODIN Honda 1'37.943 1.352 0.047
14 33 Enea BASTIANINI Honda 1'37.995 1.404 0.052
15 12 Marco BEZZECCHI KTM 1'38.011 1.420 0.016
16 72 Alonso LOPEZ Honda 1'38.017 1.426 0.006
17 21 Fabio DI GIANNANTONIO Honda 1'38.021 1.430 0.004
18 17 John MCPHEE KTM 1'38.034 1.443 0.013
19 5 Jaume MASIA KTM 1'38.414 1.823 0.380
20 48 Lorenzo DALLA PORTA Honda 1'38.590 1.999 0.176
21 77 Vicente PEREZ KTM 1'38.828 2.237 0.238
22 31 Celestino VIETTI KTM 1'38.853 2.262 0.025
23 55 Yari MONTELLA Honda 1'38.905 2.314 0.052
24 24 Tatsuki SUZUKI Honda 1'38.934 2.343 0.029
25 81 Stefano NEPA KTM 1'39.027 2.436 0.093
26 41 Nakarin ATIRATPHUVAPAT Honda 1'39.228 2.637 0.201
27 16 Andrea MIGNO KTM 1'39.516 2.925 0.288
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top