2017 Sachsenring Moto3 Race Result: An Exciting Trio Battling To The Line

After unpredictability was the name of the game weather-wise all weekend, the rain gods decided to repay the lightweight class and keep away from their race. That led to a three-way fight for the podium positions after Joan Mir, Romano Fenati and Marcos Ramirez broke away from the field early in the race to decide the win between them.

With the number of times the lead changed hands, it was nearly impossible to pick the winning rider and it went all the way down to the final sector of the final lap, Mir attacking Fenati in turn 12, snatching his fifth win of the season and adding up some spare change to his championship lead.

Fenati was the only one in the field to have gambled on the medium rear tyre, which got some pessimistic reviews before the race, but the Italian made it work and took second position. Marcos Ramirez enjoyed the sight from the Moto3 podium for the first time in his career, a result that was always going to come after his consistent performance all season.

On the other hand, the gift of the weather gods was not fully appreciated by the poleman, Aron Canet never in contention after a poor start dropped him back to fifth position, as Mir was taking the lead and trying an escape with Ramirez on his tail. Fenati pounced on the medium rear tyre by lap two, challenging Mir but never quite dropping him. Ramirez, Arbolino and Bulega latched to the lead group, Canet leading the chasers but to little success in the early laps of the race.

By lap four, the poleman was already one and a half seconds behind the leaders and having to contend with Darryn Binder and Philipp Oettl, the gap growing to four seconds by lap nine and only going up from there on. On lap thirteen, the pole jinx continued, Canet almost out of point scoring positions while fighting in a massive group for final honours. It just got worse from then on, the Spaniard crashing out with eleven laps to go, turning pole into a DNF for the second time this season.

At the front, Fenati, Mir and Ramirez shared the lead in all the various configurations possible, as Bulega and Arbolino kept quiet behind them. Fenati could not make the most of his medium rear tyre early on, surrounded by bikes on hards, but the Italian made it work good enough to keep up with his rivals as tyre degradation came into play in the final part of the race. If Fenati had any such issues, it didn’t show, the Honda rider continuing to attack Mir until the very last lap.

With nine laps to go, the lead trio had broken away from Bulega and Arbolino, the SIC58 Team rider looking like a secure fifth place before he crashed out of turn two one lap later. That left Bulega in no-man’s land, two seconds behind the podium battle and seven ahead of Oettl. The Italian won’t have minded that as he scored his best result this season, a fourth, with home rider Oettl taking fifth place.

Enea Bastianini got the best of a massive group fighting for sixth place all throughout the race, finishing ahead of Livio Loi, Bo Bendsneyder and Tatsuki Suzuki, with Darryn Binder completing the top ten.

Another win, another step towards the title for Mir, increasing his lead to 37 points ahead of the summer break. Fenati will have some homework to catch up with from second position, Canet the major loser of the day, dropping back 55 points. Martin keeps fourth place in the standings despite missing the race due to his ankle injury, Fabio Di Giannantonio sneaking ahead of John McPhee, who crashed out on lap 8 after a poor first few laps.


Pos. Num. Rider Bike Gap
1 36 Joan MIR Honda 39'34.775
2 5 Romano FENATI Honda +0.121
3 42 Marcos RAMIREZ KTM +0.218
4 8 Nicolo BULEGA KTM +5.074
5 65 Philipp OETTL KTM +13.073
6 33 Enea BASTIANINI Honda +13.650
7 11 Livio LOI Honda +14.318
8 64 Bo BENDSNEYDER KTM +14.466
9 24 Tatsuki SUZUKI Honda +14.583
10 40 Darryn BINDER KTM +14.666
11 21 Fabio DI GIANNANTONIO Honda +15.438
12 58 Juanfran GUEVARA KTM +16.146
13 7 Adam NORRODIN Honda +16.234
14 95 Jules DANILO Honda +16.324
15 12 Marco BEZZECCHI Mahindra +17.603
16 16 Andrea MIGNO KTM +17.752
17 71 Ayumu SASAKI Honda +17.845
18 84 Jakub KORNFEIL Peugeot +17.863
19 48 Lorenzo DALLA PORTA Mahindra +40.054
20 96 Manuel PAGLIANI Mahindra +40.254
21 27 Kaito TOBA Honda +40.521
22 31 Raul FERNANDEZ Mahindra +1'09.377
23 41 Nakarin ATIRATPHUVAPAT Honda +1'09.466
24 77 Tim GEORGI KTM +1'09.590
25 4 Patrik PULKKINEN Peugeot +1'13.004
26 6 Maria HERRERA KTM 2 Laps
    Not Classified    
  19 Gabriel RODRIGO KTM 1 Lap
  14 Tony ARBOLINO Honda 8 Laps
  44 Aron CANET Honda 12 Laps
  52 Danny KENT KTM 12 Laps
  17 John MCPHEE Honda 21 Laps


Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top