2016 Donington World Supersport Race Results: Any Surprises?

The World Supersport race was 20 laps on a cool 13°C day.

PJ Jacobsen took the lead into the first turn ahead of Kenan Sofuoglu and Luke Stapleford, Alex Baldolini, Randy Krummenacher and Gino Rea, but Sofuoglu took the lead back and set about trying to break away. Jacobsen stayed with him, however and they were joined by Krummenacher who wasted no time in dispatching Stapleford who fell into the clutches of Rea.

Six laps in, Sofuoglu had broken free of Jacobsen who had Krummenacher snapping at his heels, leaving the battle for fourth place, led by Stapleford and then Rea a couple of laps later, almost two seconds behind. Christian Gamarino, further back, withdrew from the race with a smoking bike while duelling with Jules Cluzel.

Alex Baldolini, having dropped back earlier, cleared off from Cluzel and joined Ayrton Badovini behind Rea and Stapleford to make the battle for fourth a four-way dice while Krummenacher, almost three seconds ahead, probed unsuccessfully for a way past Jacobsen.

At the halfway mark, Kyle Smith, back in tenth place, had clear track behind and in front and set the fastest lap on lap eleven and closed up to the MV Agusta pair of Jules Cluzel and Lorenzo Zanetti. Two laps later, Smith caught and past Zanetti. Another lap and he'd caught Cluzel. Another lap and he was ahead of CLuzel looking at a gap of just under three seconds to Baldolini in seventh.

At the front, Kenan Sofuoglu's comfortable two and a half second gap was being slowly eroded by PJ Jacobsen and Randy Krummenacher as the pace increased, but Krummenacher couldn't maintain Jacobsen's lap times and saw the American break away on his own to chase down the leader Sofuoglu.

Kenan Sofuoglu isn't a man to suffer under pressure, though, and while he gave a few tenths of a second a lap to Jacobsen, he maintained a low 1'31 pace and won the race by just over a second. PJ Jacobsen was rewarded with his efforts with a second place with a lonely Randy Krummenacher over two seconds further back. Gino Rea, the fastest man on Friday, kept in front of Luke Stapleford for the remainder of the race and came home in fourth place ahead of his countryman. Kyle Smith, having carved his way through fast traffic from fourteenth place, finished in sixth.

Kenan Sofuoglu extends his lead by nine points to twenty six points ahead of his teammate Randy Krummenacher. PJ Jacobsen takes third place in the title chase, leapfrogging both Jules Cluzel and Kyle Smith.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 1 K. SOFUOGLU Kawasaki ZX-6R  
2 2 P. JACOBSEN Honda CBR600RR 1.569
3 21 R. KRUMMENACHER Kawasaki ZX-6R 3.775
4 4 G. REA MV Agusta F3 675 7.204
5 81 L. STAPLEFORD Triumph Daytona 675 7.576
6 111 K. SMITH Honda CBR600RR 11.323
7 25 A. BALDOLINI MV Agusta F3 675 11.846
8 16 J. CLUZEL MV Agusta F3 675 15.008
9 86 A. BADOVINI Honda CBR600RR 15.215
10 87 L. ZANETTI MV Agusta F3 675 19.492
11 64 F. CARICASULO Honda CBR600RR 19.681
12 61 A. ZACCONE Kawasaki ZX-6R 20.152
13 55 I. MIKHALCHIK Kawasaki ZX-6R 20.252
14 44 R. ROLFO MV Agusta F3 675 29.140
15 78 H. OKUBO Honda CBR600RR 34.652
16 71 C. BERGMAN Honda CBR600RR 34.782
17 47 A. BASSANI Kawasaki ZX-6R 37.813
18 89 A. IRWIN Yamaha YZF R6 38.218
19 41 A. WAGNER MV Agusta F3 675 47.846
20 63 Z. KHAIRUDDIN Kawasaki ZX-6R 48.640
21 77 K. RYDE MV Agusta F3 675 49.212
22 96 J. ORELLANA Honda CBR600RR 1'00.765
23 74 J. VAN SIKKELERUS Yamaha YZF R6 1'00.942
24 10 N. CALERO Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'04.553
25 35 S. HILL Honda CBR600RR 1'05.015
26 23 C. TANGRE Suzuki GSX-R600 1'09.420
27 6 D. STIRPE Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'17.153
28 83 L. EPIS Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'17.383
29 12 C. GOBBI Yamaha YZF R6 1 Lap
30 7 A. LICCIARDI Kawasaki ZX-6R 1 Lap
RET 69 O. JEZEK Kawasaki ZX-6R 12 Laps
RET 11 C. GAMARINO Kawasaki ZX-6R 14 Laps
RET 88 N. TEROL MV Agusta F3 675 17 Laps
RET 50 B. ORTT Honda CBR600RR 20 Laps


Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top