2015 Valencia Moto3 Race Results: Done And Dusted

The title still to be decided, Miguel Oliveira needed to win and have Danny Kent finish fifteenth or lower to take the title.

Oliveira opened his campaign the right way, taking the lead ahead of Romano Fenati, Efron Vazquez and pole man John McPhee. Danny Kent was back in fifteenth on the first lap.

Jorge Navarro joined the men at the front, pushing past McPhee to take his place in the top four. The front group comprised eight riders after a few laps with Danny Kent six places back in fourteenth.

Vazquez took the lead from Oliveira for a few corners on the seventh lap then Navarro had a go on lap eight and Fenati briefly led a couple of laps later, but Oliveira kept getting back to the lead.

Eleven laps in, with Kent in twelfth place, Karel Hanika had his crash and Fabio Quartararo pitted in out of the race. Kent had a comfortable gap behind him and just maintained his position without taking risks.

Brad Binder made the front group of eight a group of nine but Hiroki Ono fell off the group, pushed back from seventh place to ninth and then off the front group where the next group of Enea Bastianini and Isaac Viñales wasted no time in throwing him to his twelfth-placed teammate Danny Kent.

As the front group split, with Oliveira, Navarro, Vazquez and Fenati trying to pass one another at the front, Niccolo Antonelli led the fight for fifth place. Kent passed Ono but instead of letting him ride around safely, Ono rode very close and even tried a few passes on his Leopard teammate, much to the consternation of Kent's pit crew who went and told Ono's team to get their man to back down.

Lap twenty started with Ono's pit board just showing his place with no instructions to behave and another tense lap ensued with Kent trying to keep out of trouble without conceding the eleventh place. A lap later, Ono's crew finally leant over the pit wall and waved at their rider to calm the beans.

Oliveira continued to lead the race as the laps ticked down with Navarro taking the slot behind him in the tight pack of four riders.

On the last lap, Oliveira took the lead back off Navarro into the first turn while Ono passed Kent and then waved him back only to pass him later, but at the front, Antonelli closed the gap to the second group but lunged too hard and took out Fenati and Vazquez, skittling the three of them into the gravel.

Miguel Oliveira won his sixth race of the year, ahead of Jorge Navarro and Jakub Kornfeil, the beneficiary of Antonelli's hot tempered move, but it was still not enough to take the title from twelfth-placed Danny Kent.

Danny Kent is the first British Motorcycle Grand Prix world champion since Barry Sheene in 1977.


Pos. Num. Rider Bike Gap
1 44 Miguel OLIVEIRA KTM 40'09.792
2 9 Jorge NAVARRO Honda +0.198
3 84 Jakub KORNFEIL KTM +2.090
4 41 Brad BINDER KTM +2.121
5 33 Enea BASTIANINI Honda +2.975
6 32 Isaac VIÑALES KTM +3.343
7 17 John MCPHEE Honda +4.087
8 76 Hiroki ONO Honda +9.627
9 52 Danny KENT Honda +9.914
10 65 Philipp OETTL KTM +10.580
11 16 Andrea MIGNO KTM +10.661
12 8 Nicolò BULEGA KTM +11.642
13 21 Francesco BAGNAIA Mahindra +16.741
14 88 Jorge MARTIN Mahindra +20.196
15 10 Alexis MASBOU Honda +21.531
16 95 Jules DANILO Honda +21.552
17 63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN KTM +21.868
18 40 Darryn BINDER Mahindra +25.114
19 29 Stefano MANZI Mahindra +25.301
20 11 Livio LOI Honda +25.331
21 6 Maria HERRERA Husqvarna +25.655
22 48 Lorenzo DALLA PORTA Husqvarna +32.973
23 4 Fabio DI GIANNANTONIO Honda +33.019
24 22 Ana CARRASCO KTM +33.549
25 96 Manuel PAGLIANI Mahindra +33.953
    Not Classified    
  7 Efren VAZQUEZ Honda 1 Lap
  5 Romano FENATI KTM 1 Lap
  23 Niccolò ANTONELLI Honda 1 Lap
  19 Alessandro TONUCCI Mahindra 4 Laps
  98 Karel HANIKA KTM 14 Laps
  20 Fabio QUARTARARO Honda 14 Laps
  58 Juanfran GUEVARA Mahindra 17 Laps
  24 Tatsuki SUZUKI Mahindra 17 Laps
  2 Remy GARDNER Mahindra 19 Laps


Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top