2015 Qatar World Supersport Race Results: Last Of The Year, Lots To Prove

The last race of the season was fifteen floodlit laps.

Kenan Sofuoglu hit turn one first and was followed by Lucas Mahias, PJ Jacobsen, Lorenzo Zanetti and Kyle Smith. Three of these five would make the podium.

Sofuoglu fended off a thrusting Mahias for a few laps, the Frenchman's Yamaha having a much quicker pace into corners but unable to match the Kawasaki on corner exit speed. Zanetti, having passed Jacobsen, tried to take second place from Mahias on the third lap into turn one, but Mahias just doggedly kept his line round the outside, forcing Zanetti to slow down and concede the position.

A lap later, Zanetti passes Mahias as Mahias goes wider than intended, their fight freeing up Sofuoglu and allowing him to try to make a run for it. Smith in fifth place is trying the same with Jacobsen but it takes a few laps before he can finally take fourth place from the American.

Meanwhile, Gino Rea, having had an uncharacteristically poor start, sets the fastest lap a few places further back and starts a promising charge through the field that ends with him in the gravel.

Smith, over a second clear from Jacobsen, passes Mahias for third place and, into turn one of lap nine, follows Lorenzo Zanetti past Sofuoglu. Zanetti making a clean pass and Smith sliding sideways with opposite lock between the two. A few corners later, Smith took first place from Zanetti but was unable to get a gap from the battle behind him. A lap later, it was Sofuoglu who took his turn behind Smith.

Smith spent most of the beginning of the lap trying to escape but Sofuoglu was able to close up in the last sector. As Smith slid through the last corner, Sofuoglu closed the gap this continued lap after lap. The front three eventually dropped off Mahias into a safe fourth place and set out to decide the order of the podium.

On the penultimate lap, Kenan Sofuoglu took first place from Kyle Smith. Smith took it back and Lorenzo Zanetti gave him some breathing room as he closed in on Sofuoglu and troubled him enough for him to focus on retaining second instead of fighting for first.

Smith rode the last lap without making the sort of mistake Sofuoglu needed to close the six tenths of a second and as Smith smeared the remainder of his rear tyre out of the last corner, Zanetti slotted into Sofuoglu's wake and started his run for the line. Sofuoglu, no mug at this game, kept his line and drifted into Zanetti's gap, forcing him to sit up briefly and lose the momentum he was saving up to pass the world champion at the line.

Kyle Smith took his first victory in World Supersport ahead of Kenan Sofuoglu and Lorenzo Zanetti, continuing the day of maiden victories. Pata Honda also got their first victory of the year in either championship.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap Best Lap Speed
1 111 K. SMITH Honda CBR600RR   2'02.122 278,4
2 54 K. SOFUOGLU Kawasaki ZX-6R 0.971 2'02.214 278,4
3 87 L. ZANETTI MV Agusta F3 675 1.074 2'02.205 276,9
4 14 L. MAHIAS Yamaha YZF R6 3.575 2'02.350 276,2
5 99 P. JACOBSEN Honda CBR600RR 6.271 2'02.557 276,9
6 88 N. TEROL MV Agusta F3 675 6.553 2'02.447 276,2
7 44 R. ROLFO Honda CBR600RR 19.988 2'03.296 279,1
8 25 A. BALDOLINI MV Agusta F3 675 26.605 2'02.851 270,7
9 5 M. FACCANI Kawasaki ZX-6R 26.901 2'03.226 271,4
10 61 F. MENGHI Yamaha YZF R6 37.648 2'04.179 271,4
11 6 D. SCHMITTER Kawasaki ZX-6R 37.655 2'04.292 273,4
12 31 S. GADEA Honda CBR600RR 1'09.489 2'05.957 270,7
13 10 N. CALERO Honda CBR600RR 1'11.089 2'05.964 266,7
15 43 K. MANFREDI Honda CBR600RR 1'31.901 2'06.908 261,5
16 35 S. HILL Honda CBR600RR 1 Lap 2'07.032 261,5


Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top