2015 Le Mans Moto2 Race Result: A Lesson In Control

Results and summary of the Moto2 race from Le Mans:

Tom Luthi has taken a convincing victory in the Moto2 race at Le Mans. Luthi got off to a strong start, took control in the first third of the race, and went on to control the race from the front.

It was Sam Lowes who got the holeshot, taking advantage of a terrible start from polesitter Alex Rins, who dropped back to tenth. But Lowes was quickly overtaken by Johann Zarco, the French rider determined to win his home Grand Prix. It was Zarco who tried to make a break first, but the small gap he pulled in the early laps was not enough to open the field.

Behind Zarco, a group of three started chasing, with Lowes leading it at first, and Luthi and Tito Rabat following. But it was clear from the start that Tom Luthi had his eyes on this race, pushing forward early, and catching Zarco. The Frenchman put up a valiant defence for a couple of laps, but once Luthi got past, there was no more stopping him. Luthi ground out a pace just a little bit faster than his rivals, then maintained his lead at over a second all the way to the line.

Behind Luthi, Johann Zarco soon found himself with Tito Rabat to contend with. Rabat sat behind Zarco for most of the race, only passing him on lap 19. Rabat could pass, but could neither break Zarco nor make any impression on Luthi. Rabat took a solid 2nd place, with Zarco wrapping up 3rd. Zarco's podium spot came under attack on the very last lap from Sam Lowes, but the Englishman was too far back to have any real chance of unseating him, and Lowes had to settle for fourth.

Alex Rins' poor start left the Spaniard in real trouble, eventually fighting his way forward to fifth, but getting caught in a battle with Franco Morbidelli, Luis Salom and several others, he made a mistake and crashed out. He fought his way forward again, but crashed a second time, finishing outside of the points, and losing third spot in the title race.


Pos No Rider Bike Time/Diff
1 12 Thomas Luthi Kalex 42'27.011
2 1 Tito Rabat Kalex 1.767
3 5 Johann Zarco Kalex 3.760
4 22 Sam Lowes Speed Up 4.076
5 21 Franco Morbidelli Kalex 14.492
6 60 Julian Simon Speed Up 14.681
7 30 Takaaki Nakagami Kalex 14.845
8 19 Xavier Simeon Kalex 15.135
9 55 Hafizh Syahrin Kalex 19.243
10 77 Dominique Aegerter Kalex 19.531
11 95 Anthony West Speed Up 29.478
12 4 Randy Krummenacher Kalex 29.646
13 23 Marcel Schrotter Tech 3 30.220
14 11 Sandro Cortese Kalex 30.691
15 49 Axel Pons Kalex 33.097
16 88 Ricard Cardus Tech 3 33.604
17 40 Alex Rins Kalex 38.293
18 3 Simone Corsi Kalex 39.001
19 25 Azlan Shah Kalex 43.459
20 70 Robin Mulhauser Kalex 57.742
21 7 Lorenzo Baldassarri Kalex +1'09.399
22 10 Thitipong Warokorn Kalex +1'17.247
23 66 Florian Alt Suter +1'17.646
24 2 Jesko Raffin Kalex +1'17.837
25 51 Zaqhwan Zaidi Suter +1'33.192
26 20 Louis Bulle Transfiormers 1 Lap
Not Classified
  39 Luis Salom Kalex 2 Laps
  36 Mika Kallio Kalex 14 Laps
  94 Jonas Folger Kalex 17 Laps
  96 Louis Rossi Tech 3 22 Laps
  73 Alex Marquez Kalex 22 Laps


Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top