2015 Austin Moto3 Race Result: Dominance And Ascendance

Results Below:

Danny Kent took a dominating Moto3 win at the Circuit of the Americas in Texas Sunday, grabbing an early lead and extending his gap to nearly a nine-seconds by the race's end. French 15-year-old Moto3 rookie Fabio Quartararo rode a brilliant series of final laps to take second, his first-ever podium in his second-ever Grand Prix. Kent's teammate Efren Vazquez finished third, right on Quartararo's heels.

Tucked in behind Vazquez at the line was Enea Bastianini who had briefly moved into a podium position during a chaotic final three laps.  Brad Binder held on for fifth after a final-lap, final-corner crash by Alexis Masbou. John McPhee came home in sixth.

The race marked Kent's third career win and his first championship points lead.

While Kent dominated practices and final two-thirds of the race, the rest of the field provided the show, none more than the heralded rookie who last year so dominated the Spanish Moto3 series that it prompted race organizers to rewrite the rules to allow a 15-year-old into the world championship class. Thus far, he's done nothing to diminish expectations.

With 12 laps to go on a mostly dry track, Kent had already settled into a one-second lead. Jorge Navarro led the chase pack with Andrea Locatelli, Niccolo Antonelli, Alexis Masbou and Quattararo in tow. Within a lap, Kent began extended his lead to three seconds from second place. As the pack fought for position, Quartararo seized an opening and sliced into third. 

Another six laps in and Kent had disappeared from the pack by nine seconds. Masbou battled into second and put Quartararo into third. A rapid series of lead changes over the final three laps left the French rider holding second with Masbou on his tail. On the final lap it was Kent, Masbou, Quartararo, Vazquez and Bastianini. Quartararo seized second and Masbou dropped to fifth. One the race's final corner, Masbou, the Qatar race winner, lost the front end on Turn 20 and eventually crossed the line in 16th. 


Pos. No. Rider Bike Time / Diff.
1 52 Danny KENT Honda 41'32.287
2 20 Fabio QUARTARARO Honda 8.532
3 7 Efren VAZQUEZ Honda 8.652
4 33 Enea BASTIANINI Honda 8.811
5 41 Brad BINDER KTM 9.556
6 17 John MCPHEE Honda 13.869
7 55 Andrea LOCATELLI Honda 20.442
8 5 Romano FENATI KTM 20.611
9 32 Isaac VIÑALES Husqvarna 20.863
10 98 Karel HANIKA KTM 20.913
11 84 Jakub KORNFEIL KTM 21.249
12 16 Andrea MIGNO KTM 23.725
13 65 Philipp OETTL KTM 32.218
14 31 Niklas AJO KTM 36.702
15 12 Matteo FERRARI Mahindra 37.283
16 10 Alexis MASBOU Honda 47.027
17 6 Maria HERRERA Husqvarna 59.257
18 2 Remy GARDNER Mahindra +1'03.748
19 91 Gabriel RODRIGO KTM +1'04.611
20 63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN KTM +1'16.968
21 19 Alessandro TONUCCI Mahindra +1'27.397
22 22 Ana CARRASCO KTM +1'40.409
23 23 Niccolò ANTONELLI Honda +1'43.841
24 29 Stefano MANZI Mahindra +1'46.105
25 11 Livio LOI Honda 1 Lap
Not Classified    
  24 Tatsuki SUZUKI Mahindra 1 Lap
  44 Miguel OLIVEIRA KTM 8 Laps
  21 Francesco BAGNAIA Mahindra 9 Laps
  9 Jorge NAVARRO Honda 9 Laps
  88 Jorge MARTIN Mahindra 10 Laps
  76 Hiroki ONO Honda 12 Laps
  95 Jules DANILO Honda 13 Laps
  40 Darryn BINDER Mahindra 17 Laps
Not Finished 1st Lap    
  58 Juanfran GUEVARA Mahindra 0 Lap


Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top