2015 Aragon World Superbike Race Two Results: Track Heats Up, Action Cools Down

The second World Superbike race at Moorland Aragon took place under higher temperatures, air temperature up from 12°C to 18°C and track from 18°C to 32°C, and while these temperatures pale in comparison to the ones at Buriram, the difference between the two requires setup and strategic changes.

Chaz Davies made the first turn before Jonathan Rea, Leon Haslam and Tom Sykes, and these four set off, building a gap from the second group of Jordi Torres and Xavi Fores, Torres taking fifth on the second lap.

These positions didn't change until, on the fifth lap, Tom Sykes, chasing Leon Haslam down, high-sided his Kawasaki coming out of a slow corner onto a fast straight, landing hard and being tagged by a tumbling bike. He looked winded and held his arm up for assistance. A lap later, Sylvain Guintoli also suffered a DNF, without injury, ending his unbroken run of points.

Chaz Davies eked out a lead of over a second from Jonathan Rea while Leon Haslam reeled Rea in, and at the midway point of the race, Haslam had caught Rea and Davies had a lead approaching three seconds.

Jordi Torres and Xavi Fores were over four seconds off Haslam, but had a decent gap to Ayrton Badovini behind them and they continued their race unimpeded.

As the laps counted down, it was clear nobody was going to challenge Davies for the win, as he built over a four second gap, ticking off high 1'51 and low 1'52 laps ahead of Rea and Haslam. All that remained to be determined was if Haslam could beat Rea, with each rider being better at different places on the track. Haslam was able to catch Rea and look for passes, but with a lap to go, Rea spent the remainder of his tyre and put in a large enough gap to ensure that he finished over half a second ahead of Haslam.

Chaz Davies claimed the Ducati Panigale's elusive first victory, over two years after its debut, and his fifth career victory and first since 2013.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap Best Lap Speed
1 7 C. DAVIES Ducati Panigale R   1'51.156 300,0
2 65 J. REA Kawasaki ZX-10R 3.190 1'51.226 305,9
3 91 L. HASLAM Aprilia RSV4 RF 3.712 1'51.447 305,1
4 81 J. TORRES Aprilia RSV4 RF 14.216 1'51.879 311,2
5 112 X. FORES Ducati Panigale R 20.524 1'52.269 300,8
6 44 D. SALOM Kawasaki ZX-10R 25.878 1'52.810 305,9
7 36 L. MERCADO Ducati Panigale R 25.939 1'52.502 305,9
8 60 M. VD MARK Honda CBR1000RR SP 26.075 1'52.459 303,4
9 86 A. BADOVINI BMW S1000 RR 27.253 1'52.613 305,1
10 18 N. TEROL Ducati Panigale R 28.666 1'52.287 302,5
11 15 M. BAIOCCO Ducati Panigale R 41.038 1'53.043 300,0
12 40 R. RAMOS Kawasaki ZX-10R 41.983 1'53.501 297,5
13 14 R. DE PUNIET Suzuki GSX-R1000 42.961 1'53.444 302,5
14 22 A. LOWES Suzuki GSX-R1000 43.057 1'53.036 304,2
15 2 L. CAMIER MV Agusta 1000 F4 43.375 1'53.159 296,7
16 23 C. PONSSON Kawasaki ZX-10R 59.139 1'54.268 290,3
17 51 S. BARRAGÁN Kawasaki ZX-10R 59.296 1'54.132 291,9
18 59 N. CANEPA EBR 1190 RX 1'16.004 1'54.257 290,3
19 72 L. PEGRAM EBR 1190 RX 1'33.714 1'55.786 282,0
20 10 I. TOTH BMW S1000 RR 1 Lap 1'58.343 294,3


Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top