2014 Assen Moto3 Race Result: A Convincing Victory & High Drama

Full Recap and Results Below:

Alex Marquez has taken his second comprehensive victory in succession following a chaotic Moto3 race at Assen. Marquez made the most of his rivals mistakes to move himself into equal second place in the World Championship standings, seven points behind Jack Miller. The race was high in drama from the opening lap as Romano Fenati ran wide at the final chicane and dropped to 31st place, he also caused Enea Bastianini to go down. Championship leader Jack Miller then remarkably crashed out of the lead at turn one on the following lap, from there Marquez built a lead and was never truly troubled.

Alex Rins closed on Marquez at the halfway stage of the race but couldn't maintain the pace, he had to settle for providing an Estrella Galicia 1-2 after making a clever pass on Mahindra's Miguel Oliveira at the final corner. Oliveira put in a morale boosting ride for the Indian manufacturer to claim the final podium place. Alexis Masbou took fourth at the head of a fiercely contested group of six riders beating Niccolo Antonelli and Efren Vazquez across the line. Isaac Vinales, Danny Kent, Brad Binder and Scotsman John McPhee completed the highly entertaining battle and the top ten. 

In a race of high attrition Niklas Ajo also crashed with sixteen laps remaining after starting from the front row and having carved his way from 31st to eighth place Romano Fenati crashed with eight laps remaining and threw away the virtual championship lead, he was able to rejoin and finish in 18th. Rookie rider Karel Hanika crashed a lap later out of an encouraging ninth position while Juanfran Guevara, Alessandro Tonucci and Luca Grunwald were involved in a heart stopping final corner crash, thankfully all riders were uninjured and only Guevara failed to remount and finish.

Full Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Bike Time/Diff
1 25 12 Alex MARQUEZ Honda 38'07.648
2 20 42 Alex RINS Honda 2.960
3 16 44 Miguel OLIVEIRA Mahindra 3.644
4 13 10 Alexis MASBOU Honda 16.350
5 11 23 Niccolò ANTONELLI KTM 16.466
6 10 7 Efren VAZQUEZ Honda 16.487
7 9 32 Isaac VIÑALES KTM 16.531
8 8 52 Danny KENT Husqvarna 16.559
9 7 41 Brad BINDER Mahindra 16.643
10 6 17 John MCPHEE Honda 16.686
11 5 84 Jakub KORNFEIL KTM 23.232
12 4 13 Jasper IWEMA FTR KTM 24.824
13 3 3 Matteo FERRARI Mahindra 25.693
14 2 63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN Honda 25.710
15 1 65 Philipp OETTL Kalex KTM 25.774
16   51 Bryan SCHOUTEN Mahindra 25.921
17   55 Andrea LOCATELLI Mahindra 26.310
18   5 Romano FENATI KTM 29.338
19   57 Eric GRANADO KTM 32.585
20   9 Scott DEROUE Kalex KTM 38.766
21   61 Arthur SISSIS Mahindra 46.930
22   95 Jules DANILO Mahindra 47.117
23   71 Thomas VAN LEEUWEN Kalex KTM 49.062
24   22 Ana CARRASCO Kalex KTM 52.269
25   11 Livio LOI Kalex KTM 52.359
26   19 Alessandro TONUCCI Mahindra +1'10.604
27   4 Gabriel RAMOS Kalex KTM +1'19.403
28   43 Luca GRÜNWALD Kalex KTM +1'48.719
29   38 Hafiq AZMI KTM 1 Lap
Not Classified
    58 Juanfran GUEVARA Kalex KTM 1 Lap
    98 Karel HANIKA KTM 5 Laps
    31 Niklas AJO Husqvarna 16 Laps
    8 Jack MILLER KTM 21 Laps
    33 Enea BASTIANINI KTM 0 Lap


Race Details
Round Number: 


Go Brad!

Excuse the chauvenism, but it warms the cockles to witness my countryman doing Sarf Afrika proud :D

Total votes: 26

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.