2014 Sepang World Supersport Race Results: Close Racing Over Long Laps

The World Supersport race was fourteen long laps of close racing in 32°C sunshine with a track temperature of 48°C.

The long run to the first corner gave Kenan Sofuoglu a chance to blast past everyone from the second row of the grid and lead the race into the first corner. He was followed by Jules Cluzel and the PATA Hondas of Lorenzo Zanetti and Michael van der Mark with Roberto Rolfo in fifth place.

Sofuoglu was unable to make a break from the pursuing riders, and he had Cluzel on his rear wheel for the first half of the race when Van der Mark, after many place swaps with Rolfo, lap after lap, started to make a charge for the front, passing Cluzel for second.

As Van der Mark applied the pressure, Sofuoglu cracked, going wide on a turn, and he was passed by Van der Mark, Rolfo and then Cluzel. With Sofuoglu out of the way, Van der Mark was able to increase the pace of the race, a pace that Rolfo couldn't maintain but Cluzel could.

Van der Mark and Cluzel started to make a run at the front, leaving Rolfo and Sofuoglu to carve their own niche in third and fourth ahead of the rest of the field.

On lap eleven, Jack Kennedy and Roberto Tamburini bashed into one another and both went out, inexplicably followed by Florian Marino into the gravel.

Jules Cluzel was unable to pass Michael van der Mark by stringing a few good corners together and on the last lap, had to settle for an outbraking manoeuvre in turn nine. Leading into the last corner, Cluzel overcooked the last corner, but he reasoned that if he did this, he would have better drive to the line. Unfortunately, Van der Mark had an excellent line and didn't make it easy.

As the two riders charged for the flag, Cluzel got alongside Van der Mark but finished eighteen thousandths of a second behind him, giving the victory to Michael van der Mark. In third place, a similar take was developing between Roberto Rolfo and Kenan Sofuoglu, but Sofuoglu took the last podium place by over a tenth of a second.

Michael van der Mark extended his championship lead to thirty three points with his third win of the season and Jules Cluzel climbed to second place.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap Best Lap Speed
1 60 M. VD MARK Honda CBR600RR   2'09.417 261,1
2 16 J. CLUZEL MV Agusta F3 675 0.018 2'09.376 261,7
3 54 K. SOFUOGLU Kawasaki ZX-6R 4.526 2'09.576 263,0
4 44 R. ROLFO Kawasaki ZX-6R 4.651 2'09.648 263,0
5 26 L. ZANETTI Honda CBR600RR 9.187 2'09.685 264,9
6 14 R. WILAIROT Honda CBR600RR 12.494 2'09.852 261,7
7 35 R. DE ROSA Honda CBR600RR 13.515 2'09.660 262,3
8 99 P. JACOBSEN Kawasaki ZX-6R 20.400 2'09.762 263,0
9 20 Z. ZAIDI Honda CBR600RR 20.579 2'09.831 263,6
10 24 M. BUSSOLOTTI Honda CBR600RR 29.038 2'10.646 253,1
11 11 C. GAMARINO Kawasaki ZX-6R 33.204 2'10.928 258,6
12 84 R. RUSSO Honda CBR600RR 39.729 2'10.639 256,1
13 10 A. NOCCO Kawasaki ZX-6R 48.739 2'11.994 260,4
14 65 V. LEONOV MV Agusta F3 675 50.260 2'11.836 256,1
15 9 T. COVEÑA Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'02.471 2'13.676 254,3
16 89 F. ROGERS Honda CBR600RR 1'17.358 2'11.309 259,8
RET 5 R. TAMBURINI Kawasaki ZX-6R 4 Laps 2'09.859 264,3
RET 4 J. KENNEDY Honda CBR600RR 4 Laps 2'10.017 259,8
RET 21 F. MARINO Kawasaki ZX-6R 4 Laps 2'09.653 264,3
RET 61 F. MENGHI Yamaha YZF R6 5 Laps 2'12.011 259,8
RET 7 N. CALERO Honda CBR600RR 7 Laps 2'13.174 255,5
RET 88 K. COGHLAN Yamaha YZF R6 10 Laps 2'09.178 263,6
RET 161 A. IVANOV Yamaha YZF R6 13 Laps   257,9


Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top


Van der Mark is impressive! I smell a SBK ride unfolding for next yr. I personally LOVE that 600rr and am happy to see someone riding the cr@p out of it like that. Good on ya!