2013 Motegi Moto3 Race Result: Crazy Results In Fascinating Race

Full report and results below:

Alex Marquez has taken his first ever victory at the Moto3 Grand Prix in Motegi after a breathtaking head to head stoush with Maverick Vinales. The race was unbelievably high in drama from lap one as Isaac Vinales, cousin of championship contender Maverick, had a massive high side and skittled championship leader Luis Salom. Salom was able to rejoin at the very rear of the field, however to add insult to injury after trying to charge through he suffered a big crash while in twenty seventh place, he would go on to score zero points.

This lead to a fierce battle between Vinales, Marquez and Rins over the second half of the race. Unbelievably though Rins, who was in line to take over the championship lead regardless of where he finished on the podium, also crashed with four laps to go, high siding out of the ninety degree corner in somewhat silly fashion. He was able to remount and rejoin the race but would also score zero points. Jonas Folger ended up taking the final podium place in a lonely ride some seven seconds behind the leaders followed by Miguel Oliveira a further seven seconds back.

Romano Fenati took sixth place after an all Honda battle with Jack Miller and John McPhee. Niklas Ajo, Niccolo Antonelli and Brad Binder rounded out the top ten. Binder was involved in a crash for Zulfahmi Khairuddin at turn one on the first lap, clattering the unfortunate Malaysian and taking him out, race direction are set to investigate the incident. Wild card rider Hiroki Ono also crashed out of fifth place on the second lap after an impressive start. 

After results that simply couldn't be scripted, Salom's championship lead is now cut to two points to Vinales with Alex Rins' crash meaning he remains five points behind in third. The prospect of an absolute cracking final race of the season at Valencia is now highly likely, with all three Spanish riders in with a really good shot at taking a Moto3 world title.


Pos. Num. Rider Team Bike Time/Gap
1 12 Alex MARQUEZ Estrella Galicia 0,0 KTM 39'45.953
2 25 Maverick VIÑALES Team Calvo KTM 0.027
3 94 Jonas FOLGER Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Kalex KTM 7.750
4 44 Miguel OLIVEIRA Mahindra Racing Mahindra 15.889
5 5 Romano FENATI San Carlo Team Italia FTR Honda 18.323
6 8 Jack MILLER Caretta Technology - RTG FTR Honda 18.432
7 17 John MCPHEE Caretta Technology - RTG FTR Honda 18.439
8 31 Niklas AJO Avant Tecno KTM 25.608
9 23 Niccolò ANTONELLI GO&FUN Gresini Moto3 FTR Honda 25.950
10 41 Brad BINDER Ambrogio Racing Mahindra 32.933
11 84 Jakub KORNFEIL Redox RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 33.067
12 11 Livio LOI Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex KTM 33.231
13 65 Philipp OETTL Interwetten Paddock Moto3 Kalex KTM 33.668
14 89 Alan TECHER CIP Moto3 TSR Honda 39.006
15 29 Hyuga WATANABE La Fonte Tascaracing FTR Honda 39.259
16 61 Arthur SISSIS Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 42.159
17 77 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI GO&FUN Gresini Moto3 FTR Honda 42.670
18 22 Ana CARRASCO Team Calvo KTM 46.487
19 57 Eric GRANADO Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Kalex KTM 47.005
20 4 Francesco BAGNAIA San Carlo Team Italia FTR Honda 47.394
21 9 Toni FINSTERBUSCH Kiefer Racing Kalex KTM 48.496
22 58 Juanfran GUEVARA CIP Moto3 TSR Honda 51.341
23 33 Sena YAMADA Team Plus One & Endurance Honda +1'00.508
24 42 Alex RINS Estrella Galicia 0,0 KTM +1'06.878
25 53 Jasper IWEMA RW Racing GP Kalex KTM +1'10.254
26 80 Hafiq AZMI La Fonte Tascaracing FTR Honda +1'13.522
Not Classified        
  10 Alexis MASBOU Ongetta-Rivacold FTR Honda 1 Lap
  3 Matteo FERRARI Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 4 Laps
  21 Luca AMATO Ambrogio Racing Mahindra 6 Laps
  39 Luis SALOM Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 12 Laps
  91 Hiroki ONO Honda Team Asia Honda 19 Laps
  32 Isaac VIÑALES Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 0 Lap
  63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 0 Lap
  7 Efren VAZQUEZ Mahindra Racing Mahindra 0 Lap
  43 Luca GRUENWALD Kiefer Racing Kalex KTM 0 Lap


Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 
Total votes: 23

Back to top