2013 Phillip Island Moto3 FP2 Result: Unwavering Vinales Leads The Way

An ultra consistent Maverick Vinales has set a new fastest ever lap for a Moto3 machine around the Phillip Island circuit on his way to topping Friday's second free practice session. His time of 1:38.198 put him two hundredths of a second ahead of both Jonas Folger and Zulfahmi Khairuddin in second and third places respectively. It was an extremely promising showing from Khairuddin following the disappointment of missing his home GP last week after being declared unfit to race. His team mate and morning pace setter Luis Salom was a further hundredth behind in fourth. 

Ever improving FTR Honda rider Niccolo Antonelli ended the session in fifth place ahead of Mahindra's Miguel Oliveira and Alex Rins. Rins had a premature end to the session after encountering bike troubles following an off track excursion to avoid Niklas Ajo, who had crashed ahead of him. Brad Binder, Ajo and Alex Marquez rounded out the top ten.

There were crashes in quick succession for RW Racing GP team mates Jasper Iwema and Jakub Kornfeil in the second half of the session. Both riders were unharmed, but the RW team will have their work cut out to get both bikes repaired. As mentioned previously, Niklas Ajo also had a big crash in the final minutes of the session, the young Finn was pushing hard for a final quick lap, he too was unhurt. 


Pos Rider Bike Time
1  Maverick Viñales KTM 1:38.198s
2  Jonas Folger Kalex KTM 1:38.220s
3  Zulfahmi Khairuddin KTM 1:38.224s
4  Luis Salom KTM 1:38.235s
5  Niccolò Antonelli FTR Honda 1:38.383s
6  Miguel Oliveira Mahinda 1:38.488s
7  Alex Rins KTM 1:38.495s
8  Brad Binder Mahinda 1:38.685s
9  Niklas Ajo KTM 1:38.725s
10  Alex Marquez KTM 1:38.996s
11  Isaac Viñales FTR Honda 1:39.096s
12  Jack Miller FTR Honda 1:39.129s
13  Romano Fenati FTR Honda 1:39.179s
14  Arthur Sissis KTM 1:39.181s
15  Lorenzo Baldassarri FTR Honda 1:39.207s
16  Alan Techer TSR Honda 1:39.261s
17  Efren Vazquez Mahinda 1:39.302s
18  Ana Carrasco KTM 1:39.317s
19  Philipp Oettl Kalex KTM 1:39.323s
20  Francesco Bagnaia FTR Honda 1:39.374s
21  Alexis Masbou FTR Honda 1:39.406s
22  Luca Gruenwald Kalex KTM 1:39.455s
23  Jasper Iwema Kalex KTM 1:39.462s
24  John McPhee FTR Honda 1:39.563s
25  Luca Amato Mahinda 1:39.682s
26  Eric Granado Kalex KTM 1:39.709s
27  Jakub Kornfeil Kalex KTM 1:39.767s
28  Matteo Ferrari FTR Honda 1:39.909s
29  Livio Loi Kalex KTM 1:39.942s
30  Toni Finsterbusch Kalex KTM 1:40.234s
31  Juanfran Guevara TSR Honda 1:40.298s
32  Hyuga Watanabe FTR Honda 1:40.612s
33  Hafiq Azmi FTR Honda 1:41.535s
34  Lachlan Kavney Bullet 1:44.834s
35  Callum Barker Honda 1:46.057s


Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top