2013 Assen Moto3 Race Result: Fierce Five-Way Tussle

Summary and results of Moto3 race:

Championship leader Luis Salom has taken a fantastically brave and canny last lap victory during a relentless five-way battle in the Moto3 race at Assen. The Spaniard pulled out all the stops to dive ahead of countryman Maverick Vinales on the second to last corner, managing to block the run into the final chicane perfectly and win the dash to the line. Fellow championship contender Alex Rins finished in third place after failing to capitalise on being able to pull a two second lead at the middle point of the frenetic race.

Miguel Oliveira was always amongst the front group and was unlucky to miss out on the podium, coming home fourth ahead of Alex Marquez, who was a mere four tenths behind leader Salom across the line. Marquez grabbed the hole shot into turn one as an initial lead group of nine riders formed. Jonas Folger was among the pack, but he was dropped ten laps from the end, perhaps succumbing to his wrist injury. Jack Miller beat Arthur Sissis to seventh place in a lonely but hard fought all Australian battle as Alexis Masbou and Niklas Ajo rounded out the top ten. They headed a massively entertaining group of riders that spanned back to Scotsman John McPhee in 21st position.

There were crashes for Juanfran Guevara, Danny Webb and hometown heroes Thomas Van Leeuwen and Jasper Iwema.


Pos Num Rider Bike Time/Gap
1 39 Luis SALOM KTM 38'20.086
2 25 Maverick VIÑALES KTM 0.122
3 42 Alex RINS KTM 0.282
4 44 Miguel OLIVEIRA Mahindra 0.378
5 12 Alex MARQUEZ KTM 0.416
6 94 Jonas FOLGER Kalex KTM 19.646
7 8 Jack MILLER FTR Honda 27.688
8 61 Arthur SISSIS KTM 27.811
9 10 Alexis MASBOU FTR Honda 34.797
10 31 Niklas AJO KTM 34.823
11 32 Isaac VIÑALES FTR Honda 35.130
12 7 Efren VAZQUEZ Mahindra 35.361
13 23 Niccolò ANTONELLI FTR Honda 35.523
14 5 Romano FENATI FTR Honda 35.628
15 41 Brad BINDER Suter Honda 35.886
16 84 Jakub KORNFEIL Kalex KTM 35.948
17 63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN KTM 36.169
18 89 Alan TECHER TSR Honda 36.486
19 51 Bryan SCHOUTEN FTR Honda 36.632
20 77 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI FTR Honda 36.747
21 17 John McPHEE FTR Honda 38.583
22 65 Philipp OETTL Kalex KTM 50.764
23 11 Livio LOI Kalex KTM 50.843
24 9 Toni FINSTERBUSCH Kalex KTM 50.963
25 19 Alessandro TONUCCI FTR Honda 51.168
26 4 Francesco BAGNAIA FTR Honda 51.285
27 3 Matteo FERRARI FTR Honda 51.748
28 57 Eric GRANADO Kalex KTM 58.945
29 22 Ana CARRASCO KTM +1'10.891
30 66 Florian ALT Kalex KTM +1'37.593
31 29 Hyuga WATANABE FTR Honda +1'37.767
Not Classified      
  53 Jasper IWEMA Kalex KTM 4 Laps
  71 Thomas VAN LEEUWEN Bakker Honda 5 Laps
  99 Danny WEBB Suter Honda 13 Laps
  58 Juanfran GUEVARA TSR Honda 0 Lap


Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top


What a ride by this guy on that Mahindra!! Just missed the victory by less than half a second, but that will come with maturity and a little improvement on that bike. Go Miguel, Go Mahindra!!!

I really cannot understand what is hindering Fenati. He used to put up better performances in the past. This year his nowhere near himself.....

His problem is that he is on the Honda. The honda is way down on speed compared to the KTM