2013 Phillip Island World Supersport FP1 Results: Sam Lowes v Kenan Sofuoglu

A session peppered with red flags opened the season. Riders struggled with the new surface as Gabor Talmasci, Vladimir Leonov and three others all took turns in stopping the clock and the session was finally laid to rest with just under two minutes left. Four riders stood out, even if two of them were late to leave their boxes. Reigning champion Kenan Sofuoglu was a late starter, as was Sam Lowes, dispelling all doubts of the Yamaha's speed, while the veteran Fabien Foret and newcomer Michael Van Der Mark posted fast times throughout the session. Sam Lowes ended the session at the top of the sheet with only Kenan Sofuoglu joining him under 1'34. Both Lowes and Sofuoglu were under Joan Lascorz's fastest qualifying lap of 1'33.847 that dates back to 2010.


1. Sam Lowes (Yakhnich Motorsport) Yamaha YZF R6 1'33.294
2. Kenan Sofuoglu (MAHI Racing Team India) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'33.585
3. Fabien Foret (MAHI Racing Team India) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'34.540
4. Michael Vd Mark (Pata Honda World Supersport) Honda CBR600RR 1'34.577
5. David Salom (Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'34.732
6. Vladimir Leonov (Yakhnich Motorsport) Yamaha YZF R6 1'34.895
7. Luca Scassa (Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'34.973
8. Massimo Roccoli (Team Pata by Martini) Yamaha YZF R6 1'34.975
9. Roberto Rolfo (ParkinGo MV Agusta Corse) MV Agusta F3 675 1'35.091
10. Kevin Curtain (Yamaha Racing Team) Yamaha YZF R6 1'35.250
11. Fabio Menghi (VFT Racing) Yamaha YZF R6 1'35.256
12. Kev Coghlan (Kawasaki DMC-Lorenzini Team) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'35.269
13. Andrea Antonelli (Team Goeleven) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'35.513
14. Alex Baldolini (Team Lorini) Honda CBR600RR 1'35.532
15. Jack Kennedy (Rivamoto) Honda CBR600RR 1'35.605
16. Roberto Tamburini (Suriano Racing Team) Suzuki GSX-R600 1'35.703
17. Lorenzo Zanetti (Pata Honda World Supersport) Honda CBR600RR 1'35.805
18. Christian Iddon (ParkinGo MV Agusta Corse) MV Agusta F3 675 1'35.816
19. Vladimir Ivanov (Kawasaki DMC-Lorenzini Team) Kawasaki ZX-6R 1'35.886
20. Raffaele De Rosa (Team Lorini) Honda CBR600RR 1'35.915
21. Balazs Nemeth (Complus SMS Racing) Honda CBR600RR 1'35.916
22. Luca Marconi (PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 1'36.099
23. David Linortner (Team Honda PTR) Honda CBR600RR 1'36.108
24. Imre Toth (Racing Team Toth) Honda CBR600RR 1'36.300
25. Alex Schacht (Racing Team Toth) Honda CBR600RR 1'36.370
26. Luca Salvadori (Team Pata by Martini) Yamaha YZF R6 1'36.511
27. Mitchell Carr (AARK Racing) Triumph 675 R 1'36.714
28. Josh Hook (Team Honda Racing) Honda CBR600RR 1'36.803
29. Mathew Scholtz (Suriano Racing Team) Suzuki GSX-R600 1'36.806
30. Dino Lombardi (Pata by Martini Team) Yamaha YZF R6 1'36.940
31. Nacho Calero Perez (Honda PTR) Honda CBR600RR 1'37.322
32. Sheridan Morais (PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 1'37.599
33. Matt Davies (Team Honda PTR) Honda CBR600RR 1'37.733
34. Gabor Talmacsi (Prorace) Honda CBR600RR 1'38.645
35. Eduard Blokhin (Rivamoto) Honda CBR600RR 1'38.937
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top


WOO-HOO! Finally ...

Hoping for Kenan and Fabien to do well. Friends of mine fettle their suspenders, and nothing seems to irritate the BBC Eurosport announcers more than Foret ...