2012 Brno World Supersport Race Result: Red Flagged Start An Omen

World Supersport started with Fabien Foret's bike taking a nap on the starting grid, just before the warm-up lap. After the race was started, with Cluzel taking the lead, it was red flagged before the first lap was completed as a bike crashed on the grid. Suspicions that the crash may have been caused by Foret's fallen bike leaking on the grid were unfounded as InFront technicians checked the track after the bike fell, implying that there was no loose fluid left behind.

After the restart, Kenan Sofuoglu lead by turn one, but Foret quickly got past to take a lead he would grow for the next few laps. As Sofuoglu battled with Broc Parkes for second, Jules Cluzel and Sam Lowes, after dispatching the Triumph of Iannuzzo, battled for fourth. Foret managed a two-second gap ahead of Sofuoglu and Parkes who in turn held two seconds over Lowes, the victor of the PTR Honda battle for fourth.

The race stayed consistent until two thirds race distance when Sofuoglu made a charge for Foret, dragging Parkes with him. Lowes tried to catch the leading trio but would have to settle for fourth place.

The front three were together and, at the end of the straight, with five laps left, Kenan Sofuoglu took the lead. The front three were tightly grouped for the entire lap and the lap after, as Foret closed the gap to Sofuoglu and promised us a battle, Ronan Quarmby, much further back, flipped his bike, leaving a Honda in the middle of the wide track and a rider at one side, causing marshals to run across the track and red flag the race.

The race was rolled back to the beginning of the last completed lap, giving the victory to a surprised Fabien Foret ahead of an angry Kenan Sofuoglu. Broc Parkes in third also looked like he was robbed of a chance at victory.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 99 FORET F Kawasaki ZX-6R  
2 54 SOFUOGLU K Kawasaki ZX-6R 0.128
3 23 PARKES B Honda CBR600RR 0.434
4 11 LOWES S Honda CBR600RR 4.650
5 16 CLUZEL J Honda CBR600RR 7.725
6 34 QUARMBY R Honda CBR600RR 11.384
7 32 MORAIS S Kawasaki ZX-6R 11.934
8 12 CRUCIANI S Kawasaki ZX-6R 12.253
9 31 IANNUZZO V Triumph Daytona 675 15.111
10 65 LEONOV V Yamaha YZF R6 18.549
11 98 LANUSSE R Kawasaki ZX-6R 18.840
12 14 TALMACSI G Honda CBR600RR 19.037
13 93 MARINO F Kawasaki ZX-6R 24.880
14 53 DEBISE V Honda CBR600RR 24.905
15 87 MARCONI L Yamaha YZF R6 32.134
16 35 DE ROSA R Honda CBR600RR 32.401
17 38 NEMETH B Honda CBR600RR 32.696
18 13 LOMBARDI D Yamaha YZF R6 33.236
19 10 TOTH I Honda CBR600RR 36.772
20 89 KERSCHBAUMER S Yamaha YZF R6 41.597
21 61 MENGHI F Yamaha YZF R6 41.886
22 66 AGNELLI A Kawasaki ZX-6R 50.403
23 40 JESSOPP M Honda CBR600RR 1'13.516
24 24 BLOKHIN E Yamaha YZF R6 1'28.048
25 73 POZDNEEV O Yamaha YZF R6 2'06.493
RET 20 SCHOLTZ M Honda CBR600RR 1 Lap
RET 64 DAY J Kawasaki ZX-6R 2 Laps
RET 3 METCHER J Yamaha YZF R6 3 Laps
RET 22 TAMBURINI R Honda CBR600RR 4 Laps
RET 33 POLZER Y Yamaha YZF R6 5 Laps
RET 55 ROCCOLI M Honda CBR600RR 9 Laps
RET 19 SZKOPEK P Honda CBR600RR 11 Laps
RET 25 BALDOLINI A Triumph Daytona 675 12 Laps


Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top