2011 Valencia 125cc Race Result: Three-Way Battle Settled In Final Laps

Results and summary of the 125cc race at Valencia:

Summary to follow ASAP

Maverick Viñales has taken victory in the last ever 125cc race, holding off challenges from Nico Terol and Hector Faubel. With Terol on the podium and Johann Zarco crashing out in the early laps, Terol has become the final 125cc World Champion, joining Hiroshi Aoyama and Valentino Rossi as the last of the two-stroke era champions.

Polesitter Danny Webb got the holeshot, pulling out a big lead on the first lap, but his advantage would not last long. Hector Faubel soon came charging through, with Sandro Cortese and Maverick Viñales chasing him. The German and the Spaniard could not agree on who would lead the chase, however, allowing Faubel to pull out a sizable gap by the end of lap 8. 

Johann Zarco had been in the group with Cortese and Viñales, pushing hard to catch Faubel, but a mistake at Turn 12 saw him lose the front end and crash out of the race, taking his championship hopes with him. Zarco's misfortune seemed to settle Nico Terol's mind, the Bankia Aspar rider finally loosening up and finding some speed again. Terol caught Cortese and Viñales on lap 10, just as spots of rain started to fall, which catching Cortese out and causing him to crash out.

The rain saw Faubel ease up just enough for Terol and Viñales, and a fierce battle for control unfolded. Faubel in control at first, with Viñales taking over later, only to see Nico Terol take over the lead on lap 14. A small mistake four laps later saw Terol give up the lead, and once Viñales was back in the lead, he took charge of the race. Lap by lap he eased open a gap, going on to win the race by a comfortable margin. Terol took back 2nd from his Bankia Aspar teammate Faubel on the penultimate lap, with a little help from a backmarker, wrapping up the 2011 125cc title with a 2nd place finish, Faubel in 3rd.


Pos. No. Rider Manufacturer Time Diff
1 25 Maverick VIÑALES APRILIA 41'44.138  
2 18 Nicolas TEROL APRILIA 41'47.354 3.216
3 55 Hector FAUBEL APRILIA 41'51.598 7.460
4 7 Efren VAZQUEZ DERBI 41'58.698 14.560
5 94 Jonas FOLGER APRILIA 42'02.589 18.451
6 23 Alberto MONCAYO APRILIA 42'20.610 36.472
7 39 Luis SALOM APRILIA 42'36.752 52.614
8 31 Niklas APRILIA 42'44.276 1'00.138
9 3 Luigi MORCIANO APRILIA 42'44.391 1'00.253
10 96 Louis ROSSI APRILIA 42'47.396 1'03.258
11 60 Manuel TATASCIORE APRILIA 42'54.030 1'09.892
12 77 Marcel SCHROTTER MAHINDRA 42'56.879 1'12.741
13 19 Alessandro TONUCCI APRILIA 43'02.475 1'18.337
14 71 John McPHEE APRILIA 43'02.572 1'18.434
15 30 Giulian PEDONE APRILIA 43'04.718 1'20.580
16 50 Sturla FAGERHAUG APRILIA 43'05.293 1'21.155
17 52 Danny KENT APRILIA 43'11.908 1'27.770
18 56 Peter SEBESTYEN APRILIA 43'17.544 1'33.406
19 34 Daniel RUIZ HONDA 43'18.731 1'34.593
20 53 Jasper IWEMA APRILIA 43'18.970 1'34.832
21 40 Marco COLANDREA APRILIA 41'53.491 1 lap
22 10 Alexis MASBOU KTM 42'00.252 1 lap
23 86 Kevin HANUS HONDA 42'05.787 1 lap
24 84 Jakub KORNFEIL APRILIA 42'16.779 1 lap
25 63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN DERBI 42'01.106 3 laps
Not Classified
  17 Taylor MACKENZIE APRILIA 32'28.398 6 laps
  14 Brad BINDER APRILIA 30'45.042 7 laps
  28 Josep RODRIGUEZ APRILIA 31'02.335 9 laps
  11 Sandro CORTESE APRILIA 19'17.221 13 laps
  99 Danny WEBB MAHINDRA 19'37.765 13 laps
  21 Harry STAFFORD APRILIA 13'03.701 17 laps
  8 Jack MILLER KTM 5'31.279 21 laps
  5 Johann ZARCO DERBI 3'40.277 22 laps
Finished through pits
  26 Adrian MARTIN APRILIA 44'01.090 2'16.952


Tweet Button: 

Back to top


Farewell to the firebreathing Two Strokes. Great performance by Maverick. Never again will any one rider win a race at a GP event on a 2 stroke. He's already writing his own records, much like Marc and the Spaniards before him.
Then there is the Paris Hilton side of the grid,the race,the coverage and the podium.
Good on her. Her input certainly beat Antonio Banderas' effort hands down.