2010 Misano 125cc Race Result - Race-Long Duel Settled With Four Laps To Go

Marc Marquez has won the first race of the day at Misano, taking victory in the 125cc class and consolidating his lead in the championship. The Red Bull Ajo rider got a lightning start, rocketing off the line and into the first turn with a comfortable lead. The Tuenti Derbis of Pol Espargaro and Efren Vazquez followed, with polesitter Bradley Smith demoted to 4th. 

Smith's Bancaja Aspar teammate and winner of the last race at Indianapolis, Nico Terol, got off the line very badly, dropping from 3rd down to 7th, but the Spaniard immediately put the hammer down to try and catch the leaders. Terol was on a mission, and had made his way up to 2nd by the end of the 4th lap. By that time, the race had sorted itself out, with Marquez leading, ahead of Terol, Espargaro and Vazquez. The Tuenti Derbis could not match the pace at the front, though, and in the end, Marquez and Terol got away on their own. 

The victory took a long time to settle. Terol led for a long time, before Marquez snuck past on lap 12. The Red Bull Ajo rider pushed hard to get a gap, but he could not gain more than three quarters of a second, and Terol soon reeled Marquez back in again, retaking the lead on lap 15. That was all he could do, though, and Marquez harried Terol around the track until lap 18. 

That was the point at which Marquez made his move, and within two laps, the championship leader was gone. Terol had nothing left for Marquez, and could only watch as Marquez put another 5 points on Terol, after the Bancaja Aspar rider had clawed back such a big chunk at Indianapolis.

The race for 3rd was closer. Espargaro held 3rd for a long time, but the Tuenti Derbi rider had used up his tires trying to chase Marquez and Terol. Espargaro slid back into the clutches of the chasing group, consisting of Sandro Cortese, Efren Vazquez and Bradley Smith. After a tense battle that saw places being swapped continuously, Vazquez emerged triumphant, taking the last spot on the podium. Bradley Smith grabbed 4th, after a tough move in the final corner, dropping Cortese down to 5th, while Espargaro was forced to settle for 6th.


Pos. No. Rider Manufacturer Time Diff
1 93 Marc MARQUEZ DERBI 39'56.117  
2 40 Nicolas TEROL APRILIA 39'58.302 2.185
3 7 Efren VAZQUEZ DERBI 40'01.745 5.628
4 38 Bradley SMITH APRILIA 40'02.029 5.912
5 11 Sandro CORTESE DERBI 40'02.495 6.378
6 44 Pol ESPARGARO DERBI 40'03.208 7.091
7 12 Esteve RABAT APRILIA 40'19.952 23.835
8 71 Tomoyoshi KOYAMA APRILIA 40'20.008 23.891
9 35 Randy KRUMMENACHE APRILIA 40'26.031 29.914
10 99 Danny WEBB APRILIA 40'26.086 29.969
11 94 Jonas FOLGER APRILIA 40'26.290 30.173
12 14 Johann ZARCO APRILIA 40'34.528 38.411
13 23 Alberto MONCAYO APRILIA 40'34.806 38.689
14 15 Simone GROTZKYJ APRILIA 40'42.611 46.494
15 26 Adrian MARTIN APRILIA 40'42.686 46.569
16 84 Jakub KORNFEIL APRILIA 40'56.386 1'00.269
17 78 Marcel SCHROTTER HONDA 40'57.825 1'01.708
18 97 Armando PONTONE APRILIA 41'03.494 1'07.377
19 69 Louis ROSSI APRILIA 41'03.531 1'07.414
20 95 Alessandro TONUCCI APRILIA 41'03.604 1'07.487
21 53 Jasper IWEMA APRILIA 41'04.022 1'07.905
22 96 Tommaso GABRIELLI APRILIA 41'25.785 1'29.668
23 72 Marco RAVAIOLI LAMBRETTA 41'26.735 1'30.618
24 76 Francesco MAURIELLO APRILIA 41'26.758 1'30.641
25 36 Joan PERELLO LAMBRETTA 40'09.448 1
Not Classified
  87 Luca MARCONI APRILIA 29'10.293 7 laps
  50 Sturla FAGERHAUG APRILIA 25'31.506 9 laps
  32 Lorenzo SAVADORI APRILIA 21'34.277 11 laps
  79 Giovanni BONATI APRILIA 21'47.197 11 laps
  5 Alexis MASBOU APRILIA 14'45.423 15 laps
  39 Luis SALOM APRILIA 13'17.826 16 laps
  63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN APRILIA 1'57.718 22 laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top