2010 Catalunya 125cc Race Result - Easy Win Masks Comfortable Result

Results and summary of the 125cc race at Barcelona:

Marc Marquez took his fourth win in a row at Catalunya, taking victory in the opening 125cc race at the Montmelo circuit. The Red Bull Ajo rider grabbed the lead from Bradley Smith on the first lap, and eased away from the chasing group to take the win comfortably and unchallenged.

Behind Marquez, the usual group started slugging it out for 2nd. Bradley Smith had led into the first turn, but had seen Marquez come past shortly after, with his Bancaja Aspar teammate Nico Terol and Tuenti Derbi's Pol Espargaro before the end of the lap. While Marquez was checking out at the front, Terol and Espargaro were fighting out a personal feud over 2nd, swapping places for lap after until the halfway mark.

On lap 11, Smith, who had been sitting patiently behind the sparring Spaniards, slotted past Terol, and then past Espargaro to take over the lead. Smith tried pushing on, but despite the Spaniards continuing to focus on each other rather than Smith, the British could not escape.

While Marquez cruised round on his final lap, the chasing trio fought out a bitter battle for the remaining podium spots. Both Terol and Espargaro got past Smith in the first right-left combination, with Espargaro getting past Terol into the long Repsol corner at turn 4. Terol tried a desperate dive at the next corner, but ran wide, and was forced to up the pace to chase Espargaro and Smith.

Down the back straight, heading into Barcelona's iconic La Caixa corner, Smith pushed past Espargaro to take over 2nd. Behind the Tuenti Derbi rider, Terol was pushing even harder to catch the podium pairing, but hit La Caixa traveling too fast, and crashed out when he couldn't make the turn. Smith held on to cross the line in 2nd, finishing ahead of local boy Pol Espargaro.


Pos. No. Rider Manufacturer Time Diff
1 93 Marc MARQUEZ DERBI 40'46.315  
2 38 Bradley SMITH APRILIA 40'50.953 4.638
3 44 Pol ESPARGARO DERBI 40'51.311 4.996
4 11 Sandro CORTESE DERBI 41'31.681 45.366
5 7 Efren VAZQUEZ DERBI 41'31.748 45.433
6 71 Tomoyoshi KOYAMA APRILIA 41'36.000 49.685
7 35 Randy KRUMMENACHE APRILIA 41'36.050 49.735
8 14 Johann ZARCO APRILIA 41'36.058 49.743
9 94 Jonas FOLGER APRILIA 41'36.090 49.775
10 99 Danny WEBB APRILIA 41'39.430 53.115
11 26 Adrian MARTIN APRILIA 41'44.984 58.669
12 15 Simone GROTZKYJ APRILIA 41'45.115 58.800
13 23 Alberto MONCAYO APRILIA 41'48.365 1'02.050
14 78 Marcel SCHROTTER HONDA 42'01.812 1'15.497
15 63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN APRILIA 42'02.344 1'16.029
16 84 Jakub KORNFEIL APRILIA 42'12.756 1'26.441
17 69 Louis ROSSI APRILIA 42'19.928 1'33.613
18 87 Luca MARCONI APRILIA 42'22.501 1'36.186
19 58 Joan PERELLO HONDA 42'22.538 1'36.223
20 60 Michael LAMBRETTA 42'22.655 1'36.340
21 59 Johnny ROSELL HONDA 42'30.119 1'43.804
22 72 Marco RAVAIOLI LAMBRETTA 42'41.646 1'55.331
23 56 Peter SEBESTYEN APRILIA 42'09.743 1 lap
Not Classified
  40 Nicolas TEROL APRILIA 38'59.031 1 lap
  39 Luis SALOM APRILIA 27'00.273 8 laps
  17 Eduard LOPEZ APRILIA 21'46.987 11 laps
  55 Isaac VIÑALES APRILIA 19'17.363 12 laps
  50 Sturla FAGERHAUG APRILIA 13'25.432 15 laps
  5 Alexis MASBOU APRILIA 9'34.047 17 laps
Not starting
  32 Lorenzo SAVADORI APRILIA    
Not finished first lap
  12 Esteve RABAT APRILIA      
  53 Jasper IWEMA APRILIA      
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top


Great ride by Bradly, just a shame Marquez was able to clear off and the rest couldn't catch him. Marquez is incredible at the moment, when will his run of victories end?