2010 Kyalami World Supersport Race Result - Another Dominant Victory In WSS Class

Results and summary of the World Supersport race at Kyalami:

Parkalgar Honda's Eugene Laverty rounded out a weekend of total dominance at Kyalami, by taking an imperious victory in the World Supersport race. Laverty's hegemony was threatened only twice during the weekend, once in Sunday morning's warm up, when Kenan Sofuoglu was fastest, and in the first half of the first lap of the race, after the Ten Kate man beat Laverty off the line and into Turn 1 in the lead. Half a lap later, Laverty was past Sofuoglu, and had a manageable gap. By the halfway mark, Laverty was in complete control, his position never coming under any threat whatsoever.

Sofuoglu's 2nd place was as safe as Laverty's lead, with his teammate Michele Pirro following at first, but soon demoted to 4th by ParkinGO Triumph's Chaz Davies, who took the final spot on the podium. After a tough battle with Motocard.com Kawasaki teammate Katsuaki Fujiwara and Benjan Racing's Robbin Harms, Joan Lascorz fought his way forward to 5th, relinquishing the lead in the title race, but at least limiting the damage he suffered to Sofuoglu and Laverty. Just 5 points separate the front three, and after three victories in a row, just a single point separates Laverty from championship leader Sofuoglu.


Pos No. Rider Country Bike Diff
1 50 E. Laverty IRL Honda CBR600RR  
2 54 K. Sofuoglu TUR Honda CBR600RR 4.184
3 7 C. Davies GBR Triumph Daytona 675 9.609
4 51 M. Pirro ITA Honda CBR600RR 12.912
5 26 J. Lascorz ESP Kawasaki ZX-6R 23.383
6 14 M. Lagrive FRA Triumph Daytona 675 25.252
7 25 D. Salom ESP Triumph Daytona 675 25.315
8 127 R. Harms DEN Honda CBR600RR 27.087
9 4 G. Rea GBR Honda CBR600RR 32.358
10 117 M. Praia POR Honda CBR600RR 32.476
11 38 L. Isaacs RSA Honda CBR600RR 35.347
12 37 K. Fujiwara JPN Kawasaki ZX-6R 36.882
13 5 A. Lundh SWE Honda CBR600RR 48.961
14 8 B. Chesaux SUI Honda CBR600RR 1'06.978
15 19 A. Boscoscuro ITA Honda CBR600RR 1'29.261
RET 9 D. Dell'Omo ITA Honda CBR600RR 2 Laps
RET 40 J. DiSalvo USA Triumph Daytona 675 3 Laps
RET 55 M. Roccoli ITA Honda CBR600RR 10 Laps
RET 99 F. Foret FRA Kawasaki ZX-6R 14 Laps
RET 43 J. Peskens RSA Honda CBR600RR 14 Laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top