2009 Assen 250cc Race Result - Penultimate Lap Crash Hands Easy Victory

Result and summary of the 250cc race at Assen:

Hiroshi Aoyama took victory in the 250cc race at Assen, though only after surviving a penultimate lap collision with Alvaro Bautista. Marco Simoncelli had led early on, with Hector Barbera, Alvaro Bautista and Hiroshi Aoyama behind, Aoyama having worked his way forward early on. But it was clear that Simoncelli was holding the riders behind up, and on lap 16, the inevitable happened and first Bautista, and then Aoyama went through, the Spaniard at the fast Hoge Heide kink, the Japanese rider at the GT chicane. A few corners later, Aoyama dived underneath Bautista to take the lead at the Strubben hairpin, and was away. 

Bautista worked at shaking off Simoncelli, who put up some cursory resistance, but Bautista was soon past and back with Aoyama. The two riders soon gapped Simoncelli, who was left to deal with Hector Barbera. For the remaining laps, Aoyama looked comfortable through the first half of the track, but as they ran through the fast final sector, Bautista kept closing and looking for a way past, for use in the last couple of laps.

As they headed through the section for the penultimate time, Aoyama changed his line slightly while Bautista was closer than ever. The Spaniard ran into the back of the Japanese rider, smashing his front wheel and crashing out of contention, leaving Aoyama to go on to take a comfortable win.

Hector Barbera came home 2nd, but not after some controversy of his own. Barbera had past Simoncelli on lap 20, diving through at the GT chicane, and two laps later, Simoncelli tried to come back into the Haarbocht, the first corner at the end of the front straight. Barbera was having none of it, and ran Simoncelli wide and off the track, leaving Simoncelli to settle for 3rd. 

Aleix Espargaro, replacing Gabor Talmacsi's replacement Balazs Nemeth, brought the Aspar-run Balatonring Aprilia home in 4th, holding of Roberto Locatelli on the final lap.

Pos. No. Rider Manufacturer Time Diff
1 4 Hiroshi AOYAMA HONDA 40'44.008  
2 40 Hector BARBERA APRILIA 40'48.432 4.424
3 58 Marco SIMONCELLI GILERA 40'54.347 10.339
4 41 Aleix ESPARGARO APRILIA 40'55.391 11.383
5 15 Roberto LOCATELLI GILERA 40'55.604 11.596
6 6 Alex DEBON APRILIA 40'58.273 14.265
7 17 Karel ABRAHAM APRILIA 41'01.990 17.982
8 55 Hector FAUBEL HONDA 41'03.020 19.012
9 14 Ratthapark WILAIROT HONDA 41'04.934 20.926
10 35 Raffaele DE ROSA HONDA 41'05.041 21.033
11 63 Mike DI MEGLIO APRILIA 41'16.136 32.128
12 52 Lukas PESEK APRILIA 41'25.337 41.329
13 25 Alex BALDOLINI APRILIA 41'49.329 1'05.321
14 53 Valentin DEBISE HONDA 41'56.459 1'12.451
15 10 Imre TOTH APRILIA 40'52.181 1 lap
16 56 Vladimir LEONOV APRILIA 40'59.230 1 lap
Not Classified
  19 Alvaro BAUTISTA APRILIA 37'14.827 2 laps
  8 Bastien CHESAUX HONDA 33'31.755 5 laps
  7 Axel PONS APRILIA 29'38.653 8 laps
  54 Toby MARKHAM HONDA 25'32.256 10 laps
  80 Stevie BONSEY APRILIA 23'40.998 11 laps
  75 Mattia PASINI APRILIA 23'48.443 11 laps
  12 Thomas LUTHI APRILIA 17'09.195 14 laps
  16 Jules CLUZEL APRILIA 8'40.770 19 laps
Not finished first lap
  48 Shoya TOMIZAWA HONDA    
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top