2009 Jerez 250cc Race Result - Three Man Thriller Goes Down To The Wire

Results and report of the 250cc race at Jerez:

Hiroshi Aoyama won a race-long thriller, depriving the Spanish fans of a home victory for the second time on Sunday. Polesitter Alex Debon led away from the line, but within 3 laps, Alvaro Bautista, Marco Simoncelli, Hiroshi Aoyama and Hector Barbera came by and pulled away, though Barbera could do little more than follow. Three nationalities on three different bikes swapped places on almost every lap, often multiple times. The Sito Pons, Dry Sack and Angel Nieto corners were the favorite passing spots, with Simoncelli, Bautista and Aoyama taking turns at the front. 

With four laps to go, Marco Simoncelli's choice of a softer front tire failed on him, the front sliding and eventually causing him to lose touch with Bautista and Aoyama, and letting the lurking Barbera past. Bautista led across the line to start the final lap, but Aoyama was just inches from the back wheel of the Aprilia. Aoyama pushed at Pons and Dry Sack, and finally dived underneath at Nieto, taking the lead away at the corner named after another Spanish racing great, but Bautista was not ready to surrender, chasing the Honda of Aoyama down through the long fast rights that lead into the final corner, then diving up the inside into Jerez' infamous Turn 13, the corner that has decided so many races.

It was a move Bautista had made before, and Aoyama had countered successfully several times through the race. Bautista entered the corner ahead, but ran a little wide, allowing Aoyama to come back underneath and hold the lead across the line to take victory. Marco Simoncelli crossed the line in 3rd, scoring his first points of the season, having snatched back the final podium place from Hector Barbera on the last lap. Thomas Luthi crossed the line in 5th, successfully pipping Mattia Pasini on the last lap.

Results of the 250cc race at Jerez:

Pos. No. Rider Manufacturer Time Diff
1 4 Hiroshi AOYAMA HONDA 45'08.805  
2 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA APRILIA 45'08.937 0.132
3 58 Marco SIMONCELLI GILERA 45'11.511 2.706
4 40 Hector BARBERA APRILIA 45'11.574 2.769
5 12 Thomas LUTHI APRILIA 45'26.751 17.946
6 75 Mattia PASINI APRILIA 45'26.755 17.950
7 28 Gabor TALMACSI APRILIA 45'35.093 26.288
8 16 Jules CLUZEL APRILIA 45'35.277 26.472
9 15 Roberto LOCATELLI GILERA 45'36.451 27.646
10 35 Raffaele DE ROSA HONDA 45'41.174 32.369
11 63 Mike DI MEGLIO APRILIA 45'41.422 32.617
12 48 Shoya TOMIZAWA HONDA 45'43.046 34.241
13 52 Lukas PESEK APRILIA 45'45.694 36.889
14 55 Hector FAUBEL HONDA 45'46.042 37.237
15 14 Ratthapark WILAIROT HONDA 46'25.591 1'16.786
16 10 Imre TOTH APRILIA 46'34.314 1'25.509
17 8 Bastien CHESAUX HONDA 45'17.952 1 lap
18 77 Aitor RODRIGUEZ APRILIA 45'24.420 1 lap
19 56 Vladimir LEONOV APRILIA 45'45.476 1 lap
20 53 Valentin DEBISE HONDA 46'27.875 1 lap
Not Classified
  7 Axel PONS APRILIA 39'34.811 4 laps
  76 Ivan MAESTRO APRILIA 32'52.278 8 laps
  25 Alex BALDOLINI APRILIA 17'59.444 16 laps
  6 Alex DEBON APRILIA 15'50.963 17 laps
  17 Karel ABRAHAM APRILIA 5'24.344 23 laps


Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top