2009 Assen World Supersport Race Result - Another Thriller Decided In The Last Corner

Result of the World Supersport race at Assen:

Eugene Laverty won the World Supersport race at Assen by the smallest of margins. Laverty battled Cal Crutchlow, Joan Lascorz, Fabien Foret and Andrew Pitt for much of the race, but after Andrew Pitt crashed out at the Strubben hairpin, Crutchlow and Foret lost touch with Laverty and Lascorz. Crutchlow battled his way back to Laverty and Lascorz, slowly catching the leading pair. Lascorz got past Laverty with two laps to go, but the race was decided on the final lap. Crutchlow stuffed his Yamaha inside Laverty's Parkalgar Honda at the Ruskenhoek corner, but then ran wide, and Laverty was back. The race was finally settled as tradition dictates at Assen, on the run into the final GT chicane. Laverty stuffed his bike ahead of Lascorz' Kawasaki to take victory.  

Pos Rider Country Bike Diff
1 E. Laverty IRL Honda CBR600RR  
2 C. Crutchlow GBR Yamaha YZF R6 0.107
3 J. Lascorz ESP Kawasaki ZX-6R 0.178
4 F. Foret FRA Yamaha YZF R6 1.777
5 K. Sofuoglu TUR Honda CBR600RR 1.901
6 M. Aitchison AUS Honda CBR600RR 5.492
7 A. West AUS Honda CBR600RR 12.551
8 B. Veneman NED Suzuki GSX-R600 12.841
9 R. Harms DEN Honda CBR600RR 13.567
10 M. Pirro ITA Yamaha YZF R6 19.657
11 P. Vostarek CZE Honda CBR600RR 24.316
12 G. Nannelli ITA Triumph Daytona 675 25.803
13 M. Roccoli ITA Honda CBR600RR 26.255
14 K. Fujiwara JPN Kawasaki ZX-6R 26.439
15 G. McCoy AUS Triumph Daytona 675 44.902
16 A. Vos NED Honda CBR600RR 52.814
17 R. Holland AUS Honda CBR600RR 52.959
18 D. Dell'Omo ITA Honda CBR600RR 58.793
19 K. Bos NED Yamaha YZF R6 1'04.653
20 M. Van Nieuwenhuizen NED Yamaha YZF R6 1'08.049
21 F. Lai ITA Honda CBR600RR 1'08.111
22 Y. Guerra ESP Yamaha YZF R6 1'08.389
23 T. Van Poppel NED Yamaha YZF R6 1'25.061
RET A. Polita ITA Suzuki GSX-R600 2 Laps
RET M. Praia POR Honda CBR600RR 5 Laps
RET A. Pitt AUS Honda CBR600RR 6 Laps
RET G. Vizziello ITA Honda CBR600RR 7 Laps
RET J. Gunther GER Honda CBR600RR 11 Laps
RET M. Lagrive FRA Honda CBR600RR 17 Laps
RET T. Pradita INA Yamaha YZF R6 18 Laps
RET M. Smrz CZE Triumph Daytona 675 19 Laps


Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top