WSBK News: Monza Race Results Stand - Appeal Rejected

The outstanding appeal, as reported here, pertaining to Tom Sykes's and Sylvain Guintoli's positions at the end of the second race at Monza, has finally been decided. Tom Sykes will retain his third place and the championship standings remain unchanged. The importance of this ruling was such that it could have had a major impact on the World Superbike title chase.

Here follows the press release from the FIM:

2013 FIM Superbike World Championship
Monza: Guintoli/Aprilia Appeal rejected by the FIM International Disciplinary Court (CDI)

Following the decision taken by the FIM Stewards at Race 2 of the FIM Superbike round held on 12 May in Monza (ITA) and counting towards the 2013 FIM Superbike World Championship to cancel the drop of position sanction imposed by the Race Direction on rider Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team), the Aprilia Racing Team and rider Sylvain Guintoli lodged an appeal with the FIM CDI.

The CDI held a hearing in the case at the FIM headquarters in Mies (Switzerland) on 16 July 2013. The parties and their representatives were duly heard.

The CDI in the person of Sole Judge Mr Jan Stovicek (Czech Republic) rejected the Appeal lodged with the FIM International Disciplinary Court (CDI) by Mr Sylvain Jean-Baptiste Guintoli and Aprilia Racing Team against the decision of the FIM Stewards taken on 12 May 2013.

The CDI noted that there was no infringement of the FIM Superbike Regulations by the Rider Tom Sykes when he left the track at the entry to the “La Roggia” chicane as he used the route indicated and returned to the track at the prescribed spot.

The CDI found that the results of Race 2 of the Round in Monza (12 May 2013), counting towards the FIM Superbike World Championship for Riders and Constructors, are definitively confirmed as follows:

  • Mr Tom Sykes finished in third position and
  • Mr Sylvain Guintoli finished in fourth position.

The full reasoned decision was notified to the parties today and will be published on the FIM website in due course (


Back to top


.... to make their minds up.

That's madness. What if this happened at the last race & the winner of the title balanced on it?

Like I say, madness.

From now on you can overtake your opponent by simply overshooting the corner and then use the immense tarmac areas outside the modern race tracks to continue your race. Just make sure you are ahead of your opponent before you run off track. Then this position is yours.

Technically Tom didn't violate a rule, but definitely the spirit of the rules. Hopefully they'll clarify the rules in the off-season to strongly discourage this from happening in the future.

1.22 Sec 3 - "Riders should use only the track and the pit-lane. However,
if a rider accidentally leaves the track then he may rejoin it at
the place indicated by the officials or at a place which does
not provide an advantage to him."

Hard to think Sykes would have really completed the pass if there had not been run-off. He did not have good control of the bike - and regardless of what I have read earlier, that he took the runoff to avoid Melandri - he would have cut across the right hander of the chicane had he not continued through the chicane and Guintoli would have regained the position by the time they exited the second corner of the chicane (speculation of course).

I suppose I can lament as much as I want, the call was made as it was, like a bad call in football. I supposed it gives us all something to talk about on a Friday.