2016 Superprestigio Entry Lists: Champions From Around The World Face Off In The Dirt

The final line up for Saturday night's Superprestigio indoor dirt track event, to be held at the Palau Sant Jordi in Barcelona, has been announced. As always, the big names at the event are reigning MotoGP champion Marc Marquez and former AMA Flat Track champion Brad Baker, with the event likely to see another run off in the Superfinal between the two.

As always, the field is divided into two classes: the Superprestigio class and the Open class. The Superprestigio class features stars from the world of road racing, including the Marquez brothers Marc and Alex, Jorge Martin, Fabio Di Giannantonio, Nico Terol, Toni Elias, with the big surprise being former World Superbike racer Ruben Xaus coming out of retirement to race on a Pursang, a revival of the classic bike from the 1960s and 1970s in flat track form. 

The Open class features starts of various off-road disciplines. Brad Baker is the main attraction, who was due to be joined by fellow AMA champion Jared Mees, until Mees suffered an injury. There are stars from the booming European dirt track scene, including Ferran Cardus, Ollie Brindley, Gerard Bailo and Alan Birtwistle, Speedway star Fredrik Lindgren, Supermotor champions Thomas Chareyre and Sylvain Bidart and more.

The event kicks off at 6pm CET, with the Superfinal being run at 9:10pm, and is due to be shown live on TV in 60 countries. US fans can watch on Fanschoice TV, with the event also being streamed live on Youtube. The full list of broadcasters is available on the DTX Barcelona website.

For an excellent preview of the event, see WorldSBK commentator and Paddock Pass Podcast contributor Steve English' look ahead over on the Asphalt & Rubber website. The full timetable of events is on the DTX Barcelona website.

Superprestigio class

  No Rider Nation Bike
1 1 Kyle Smith GBR Honda
2 2 Jesko Raffin SUI Yamaha
3 8 Jorge Martin ESP Honda
4 11 Vincent Philippe FRA Suzuki
5 12 Xavi Forés ESP Suzuki
6 15 Dani Ribalta ESP Honda
7 18 Nico Terol ESP Suzuki
8 19 Xavier Simeon BEL Suzuki
9 21 Fabio Di Giannantonio ITA Honda
10 23 Marcel Schrotter GER Suzuki
11 24 Toni Elias ESP Suzuki
12 29 Raul Fernandez ESP Husqvarna
13 31 Carmelo Morales ESP Yamaha
14 36 Joan Mir ESP Honda
15 42 Marcos Ramirez ESP Honda
16 60 Julian Simon ESP Yamaha
17 73 Alex Marquez ESP Honda
18 75 Albert Arenas ESP KTM
19 81 Jordi Torres ESP Honda
20 88 Ricky Cardus ESP Suzuki
21 93 Marc Marquez ESP Honda
22 97 Xavi Vierge ESP Tech3
23 111 Ruben Xaus AND Pursang

Open class

  No Rider Nation Bike
1 4 Thomas Chareyre FRA TM
2 6 Brad Baker USA Honda
3 10 Francesco Cecchini ITA TM
4 17 Gerard Bailo ESP Suzuki
5 20 Toby Hales GBR Husqvarna
6 30 Alan Birtwistle GBR Honda
7 34 Jordi Casas ESP Honda
8 38 George Pickering GBR KTM
9 48 Emanuele Marzotto ITA Yamaha
10 64 Sylvain Bidart FRA Honda
11 66 Fredrik Lindgren SWE Honda
12 70 Masatoshi Ohmori JAP Suzuki
13 72 Genis Gelada ESP Honda
14 77 Ferran Cardus ESP Suzuki
15 79 Josep Piedra ESP Husqvarna
16 87 Oriol Mena ESP Honda
17 121 Joan Noguera ESP Yamaha
18 124 Oliver Brindley GBR Kawasaki
19 179 Guillermo Cano ESP Honda
20 181 Gianni Borgiotti ITA Suzuki
21 213 Jaume Gaya ESP Honda
22 215 Ferran Sastre ESP Kawasaki
23 971 Tom Edwards AUS Suzuki



Back to top