2017 Provisional MotoGP Calendar - Sachsenring Now On 2nd July

The FIM today issued a revised and updated version of the provisional 2017 MotoGP calendar. The calendar features just a single change: the date of the German round of MotoGP at the Sachsenring has been moved forward two weeks, and will now take place on 2nd July.

The change has both benefits and disadvantages. On the plus side, moving the date of the Sachsenring race means that the riders now have a proper summer break again, with a month off to recover between the Sachsenring and the following race at Brno. Under the previous calendar, they had only three weeks between the German and Czech Grand Prix.

The downside is that the series now has another back-to-back race to contend with. Outside of the Pacific flyaway races (which are usually held on three consecutive weekends for reasons of cost and logistics), Dorna tries to avoid back-to-back races where possible. There are now three pairs of European races on consecutive weekends: Mugello on 4th June and Barcelona on 11th June; Assen on 25th June and Sachsenring on 2nd July; and Brno on 6th August and Austria on 13th of August. Notably, these pairings are all sequential, meaning the MotoGP grid will face three lots of back-to-back weekends in a row.

The 2017 MotoGP calendar is still provisional, though it is unlikely to change much further. The reason for the calendar not being made official is because contracts for the British Grand Prix and for Sepang still have to be formalized. Sepang has made their intention clear, as the MotoGP race at the Malaysian circuit is its most popular event. As for the British Grand Prix, the Circuit of Wales still holds the contracts, and has to finalize details of a deal with Silverstone to run the race there.

The updated provisional calendar is as follows:

Date Grand Prix Venue
26 March Qatar* Losail International Circuit
09 April República Argentina Termas de Río Hondo
23 April Americas Circuit of The Americas
07 May Spain Circuito de Jerez
21 May France Le Mans
04 June Italy Autodromo del Mugello
11 June Catalunya Barcelona - Catalunya
25 June Netherlands TT Circuit Assen
02 July Germany Sachsenring
06 August Czech Republic Automotodrom Brno
13 August Austria Red Bull Ring - Spielberg
27 August Great Britain** Silverstone Circuit
10 September San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli
24 September Aragón MotorLand Aragón
15 October Japan Twin Ring Motegi
22 October Australia Phillip Island
29 October Malaysia** Sepang International Circuit
12 November Comunitat Valenciana Comunitat Valenciana - Ricardo Tormo

* Night race
** Subject to contract


Back to top