2013 Provisional Moto2 Line Up Announced: Espargaro Favorite In Kalex-Dominated Grid

The FIM today announced the provisional entry list for the Moto2 class in 2013. As in Moto3, the champion has moved up, Marc Marquez having made the jump to MotoGP, leaving Pol Espargaro as the man to beat. With a new combined rider/bike weight limit, larger riders should have less of a disadvantage, improving Scott Redding's chances, though Thomas Luthi, Julian Simon and Alex de Angelis are all likely to feature at the front once again.

The Moto2 class sees a number of rookies enter for 2013. Sandro Cortese is the biggest name, the reigning Moto3 champion entering inside a team built entirely around him, and running WP suspension. He is joined in Moto2 by former teammate Danny Kent, the young Briton going to the Tech 3 team where he will ride alongside French rookie Louis Rossi. Two Indonesians also enter the class, Doni Tata Pradita making a return to Grand Prix with the Gresini squad, while Rafid Topan Sucipto joins Ant West in the QMMF Team, after wildcarding at Valencia. A familiar Japanese name also makes his return, this time in a managerial capacity. Tady Okada will be running the Honda Racing Asia Tady team, running Moriwaki chassis and likely to field Yuki Takahashi.

Provisional Moto2 entry list:

No. Rider Nationality Team Bike
3 Simone Corsi Italian NGM Mobile Racing Speed Up
4 Randy Krummenacher Swiss Technomag carXpert Suter
5 Johann Zarco French Came Ioda Racing Suter
7 Doni Tata Pradita Indonesian Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 Suter
8 Kyle Smith British Blusens Avintia Kalex
11 Sandro Cortese German Dynavolt Intact GP Kalex
12 Thomas Luthi Swiss Interwetten Paddock Suter
14 Ratthapark Wilairot Thai Honda Gresini Moto2 Suter
15 Alex De Angelis San Marino NGM Mobile Forward Racing Speed Up
17 Alberto Moncayo Spanish Argiñano y Gines Racing Motobost/AJR
18 Nico Terol Spanish Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter
19 Xavier Simeon Belgian SAG Team Kalex
23 Marcel Schrotter German SAG Team Kalex
24 Toni Elias Spanish Blusens Avintia Kalex
30 Takaaki Nakagami Japanese Italtrans Racing Team Kalex
36 Mika Kallio Finnish Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex
40 Pol Espargaro Spanish Tuenti HP 40 Kalex
44 Steven Odendaal South African Argiñano y Gines Racing Motobost/AJR
45 Scott Redding British Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex
49 Axel Pons Spanish Tuenti HP 40 Kalex
52 Danny Kent British Tech 3 Tech 3
54 Mattia Pasini Italian NGM Mobile Racing Speed Up
60 Julian Simon Spanish Italtrans Racing Team Kalex
63 Mike Di Meglio French JIR Moto2 Motobi
77 Dominique Aegerter Swiss Technomag carXpert Suter
80 Tito Rabat Spanish Tuenti HP 40 Kalex
81 Jordi Torres Spanish Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter
88 Ricky Cardus Spanish NGM Mobile Forward Racing Speed Up
95 Anthony West Australian QMMF Racing Team Speed Up
96 Louis Rossi French Tech 3 Tech 3
97 Rafid Topan Sucipto Indonesian QMMF Racing Team Speed Up
TBC TBC (Yuki Takahashi) (Japanese) Honda Racing Asia Tady Moriwaki


Back to top


I expected Syarihn to be there as well. Hopefully the TBC.

and with QMMF.
I also hope that Gino Rea gets another crack at a ride too. He seems to have the speed and the skill when it's wet, so perhaps he just needs a different bike/team and one of those TBC's is for him.