Fabio Quartararo And Sergio Garcia Penalized For Unauthorized Practice - UPDATE

Fabio Quartararo and Sergio Garcia have both been handed penalties for using unauthorized machines to practice on track. The pair have been punished by being forced to miss the first 20 minutes of FP1 when action resumes on Friday.

The two were punished for separate incidents, Garcia for riding at Aragon in June, Quartararo for riding at Paul Ricard in the same month. Both riders admitted that they had broken the rules, but claimed the infraction was unintentional. The relative lenience of the sentence would appear to back that up, the penalty being in line with previous incidents.

Quartararo has appealed against his penalty, however. The hearing for that is yet to be heard.

~~~ UPDATE ~~~

The FIM Appeal Stewards rejected Fabio Quartararo's appeal. The Frenchman will sit out the first 20 minutes of FP1 on Friday morning

The press release from the FIM appears below:


FIM MotoGP™ Stewards Notifications of Sanction: Fabio Quartararo and Sergio Garcia

Wednesday, 15 July 2020

Please find attached sanctions for MotoGP™ rider Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha SRT) and Moto3™ rider Sergio Garcia (Estrella Galicia 0,0) following hearings to investigate possible breaches of the FIM Grand Prix Regulations covering practice and testing, specifically Article 1.15.1. c) Rider Training and Track Familiarisation, regarding the type of machines permitted for rider training.

Both have been suspended from the first 20 minutes of the FP1 session of the Gran Premio Red Bull de España.

Fabio Quartararo has appealed the decision and more information will be provided as soon as available.


FIM MotoGP™ Appeal Stewards Notification of Decision: Fabio Quartararo

Thursday, 16 July 2020

Following an appeal from Petronas Yamaha SRT and MotoGP™ rider Fabio Quartararo, the FIM MotoGP™ Appeal Stewards held a hearing yesterday at 18:30 (GMT +2) and made a decision today.

The sanction given by the FIM MotoGP™ Stewards is confirmed. The FIM MotoGP™ Appeal Stewards' decision is final.

Back to top

Comments

Come up with game plan for missing FP1 and move on with a known rather than carry distractions of what ifs and unknowns into the race.
 

it should not be an assumption that appeal has no downside, and can only lower the penalty, not raise it.  Just ask Iannone...  

There does need to be some reality cast down at times that the next ruling may worse, for example FP1 and FP2, in this case. 

As is was a slap on wrist, take it and move on. Glad to be back :)

Unless my number is 93 I'ma outta here to the pit at 19:50. One pent-up Frenchman is coming thru. This is so great!